My First NaNoWriMo Word Count

5 Nov

As of very early this morning, I am the proud owner of an official NaNoWriMo word count.  Last night I decided that I was just going to have to start, ready or not.  So after an hour and a half of so of typing I did my 12th word count and discovered that I had finally written 1,709 words.

Now, since I am brand new at this, you are going to have to tell me if this is a crappy first amount or not.  But as far as I am concerned, things are going well.  I may have a tiny hope of actually winning this at the back of my brain, but for the most part, the realistic side of me says that the chances of my completing the set word count are pretty slim.

Especially since only a couple weeks ago I started a Facebook page for my writing adventures (as well as any other way I think of to make money. It’s entitled Rose’s Road To Riches.), and a little while later started a Twitter account strictly for the purpose of helping my writing career.  These, I have discovered, take up just a little bit of your time.  I am having a lot of fun.  Twitter seems to be full of so many other writers also trying to get ahead in their careers, and it’s fun to watch their successes and follow their blogs, and read their hard earned lessons.

My Facebook page is not doing quite so well.  I am thinking that if I up my Twitters to at least one an hour, and link back to my Facebook page half a dozen times a day, that may help increase traffic, and perhaps assist in the very slow rise of page Likes.  All in all, it’s just a wait and see, learn as you go, sort of game.

Thankfully, my wonderful husband continually reminds me that it really hasn’t been that long since I began this campaign of learning and pre-book launch set-up.  He also congratulates me on every little success.  I asked him last night if he was getting tired of me bouncing up to him to share my latest progress.  He looked straight at me and said that he didn’t mind hearing all my updates, and if it ever got annoying he would let me know.

I am so glad I didn’t let myself settle until I found the right man for me.

Until Next Time…

What were your expectations when you first tried NaNoWriMo?

What was the outcome?

It may be the newbie jitters, but I would feel better hearing some other experiences.

And yes, I do know that they most likely have a discussion forum for this on their website, but whenever I get on an interesting forum it can take me hours to get back off, and I don’t have the time for that right now.  Perhaps I’ll take an afternoon in a couple weeks to do a good amount of exploring.  Right now, though, I need some reassurances that I’m not alone in my worries, hopes, and excitement.

3 Responses to “My First NaNoWriMo Word Count”

  1. Luci Sutherland November 6, 2012 at 7:18 am #

    You done good, kid. The word count to get it done in a month is 1667 words per day – so you have the right idea. I expect you will pick up your word count as the book takes off with you. Don’t stress yourself. If you have questions we can work on it a bit the next time you come over. I love the book title, by the way!

    Like

    • rosedandrea November 6, 2012 at 11:25 am #

      Thank you, that means a lot coming from you.
      I got just over 2,000 written over night.
      I like the title, too.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Outlining I Killed Them, Mama | Rose's Road - April 8, 2013

    […] My First NaNoWriMo Word Count […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

