The Little Things

9 Nov

My Mother has always instilled into my sisters and I the importance of having an eclectic taste in entertainment.  When I was a teenager, and we had moved yet again, the four of us (yes, I have three younger sisters) discovered our parents’ record collection.  I remember washing dishes in the kitchen while Perry Como, Robert Goulet, Michael Jackson, Joan Sutherland, C. W. McCall, or Johnny Horton sang away in the background.

(We also liked to put the record player on the setting for smaller discs and listen to the singers as they sang away, sounding like Munchkins, but that’s beside the point.)

We also learned her love of BBC, and it’s made for T.V. movies, among other things.  A few days ago she sent me home with the first season of Lark Rise To Candleford.  I watched the first episode this evening, sitting cross-legged on my bed.  This series is adapted from Flora Thompson’s memoir of her childhood in rural 19th Century England.  The main character, Laura Timmins, was sent from her home to work for a relative, Dorcas   Lane, who ran the post office in the next town.  When she was shown to her bedroom, silly me expected Laura to turn on the light.  “Duh”, I told myself.  “They don’t have electricity yet.”

It struck me how lightly we take such things.

It was only a few generations ago, in my own family, that they got a house with electricity and other modern perks.  My Mother’s Mother was raised in a house with no toilet inside.  They used an outhouse.  Grandma was married and moved away before Great-Grandma got a job at a local factory because she was determined to buy a manufactured home…with a toilet inside the house.

We so often take the little things, conveniences, pleasures, for granted.  Perhaps, every once in a while, we should look up from our laptops, e-readers, and cell phones, and remember that there is other life out there.

There is that small piece of Good dark chocolate you allow yourself when you’ve been especially stressed, the hug from a friend who knows you’re struggling with something just by looking at you, or that book that made you cry, out of happiness, for your favorite character.

When’s the last time you attended a ‘physical’ book club, met a friend for ice cream, or just stayed in with your family, spending time doing silly things, like watching an old movie or playing a board game.  When’s the last time you thanked God, or your lucky stars, or fate, for allowing you to pay for the book you read for the club?  Did you remember to thank your friend for taking the time to enjoy a sweet treat with you?  Would you be willing to lay aside your stress, and worry, to play with your family?  To laugh honestly?  To really look at them, and truly enjoy the moment?

Every once in a while, I think, it is important to look around ourselves and see what we do have, rather than what we don’t.  There are so many times when we are so busy getting to the next thing, working toward a particular goal, that we forget to watch our lives as they happen.

If I live long enough to know my grandchildren, I want to be able to tell them that I actually lived.  The last thing I want is to look back at my life and wonder how it went by so quickly.  So, with that in mind, I am going to take a couple days to be mindful of what I do have; what I do like; who I do love.

I hope you will at least take a few moments to see all that you have.

*          *          *

On a less reflective note, I must ashamedly report that I have no progress to boast about on my NaNoWriMo novel.  *Sob*

Also, I have only read the first chapter of Lies, Love, and High Heels.  *Sigh*

But, as my husband says, “Every day above ground is a good one”.  Perhaps I can get some more of those projects done tomorrow.

*          *          *

Until next time…

What are your favorite ‘little’ things?

Leave a Reply

