Latest NaNoWriMo Word Count, and a Synopsis

10 Nov

 

I’m up to 5,165 words as of this evening.  So far it’s not much more than a very original outline. That will change, however when I am done plotting out the big stuff and go back to flesh things out more.

This is my first attempt at writing a contemporary suspense novel, and I must admit to enjoying myself immensely.  The idea for I Killed Them, Mama just hit me a couple days into November.  It was so irresistible.

*          *          *

A young woman is forced into marriage just weeks after her mother’s death.  Sold, essentially, to either pay off her father’s gambling debts, or to secure a small political position.  I haven’t decided yet. A few weeks after her wedding, she comes to the conclusion that the four people responsible for her unhappiness must be punished.  Not only for her sake, but for the sake of her younger sister, who will most likely meet a similar fate if big sister does not change the circumstances.

After finding an ally in a seemingly innocent little old lady, who also has a couple scores to settle, our young wife steps forth to deal out her own brand of justice.

*          *          *

The whole thing is diary entries, which are written as though they were letters to her mother.  She does not have ‘she’s not really dead’ issues.  She just is using this as a way to help her grieve, and to make sure she keeps her mother’s memory close so as not to go too far with the revenge (i.e., poisoning the punch bowl at a family wedding and watching all of them die).

If you haven’t yet noticed, my main character does not have a name yet.  Neither do her father, mother, husband, father-in-law, or mother-in-law.  The little sister does have a name.  It’s Lissie.  I don’t know whether they will get names or not.

My husband is going to help me decide why her father forced her to marry into this particular family, other than the fact that they run the town.

Perhaps it’s the fact that I’m not allowed to edit (I have a terrible habit of editing as I write, sometimes to the point of creative paralysis), the fact that I’m working within a structured time limit, or the knowing there are thousands of people attempting the same feat with me, I don’t know, but it’s fun.

Maybe in a few days I’ll post some of what I have written.

 

Until Next Time…

What is your NaNoWriMo progress, so far?

.

4 Responses to “Latest NaNoWriMo Word Count, and a Synopsis”

  1. rosedandrea January 3, 2013 at 4:19 am #

    I’ve changed it to an arranged marriage. She’s not leaving scratch marks on the pews as she’s dragged down the aisle. She finds out after a couple weeks of marriage just exactly what kind of man she has married.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Does Anyone Else…? « Rose's Road - January 2, 2013

    […] (For an excerpt of my romantic suspense, I Killed Them, Mama as it currently stands, click Here.  A synopsis is Here.) […]

    Like

  2. A Second Excerpt from I Killed Them, Mama « Rose's Road - January 7, 2013

    […] other info, and another excerpt from I Killed Them, Mama, please read this post, and then this […]

    Like

  3. Outlining I Killed Them, Mama | Rose's Road - April 8, 2013

    […] Latest NaNoWriMo Word Count, And A Synopsis […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

