The Stack of Books Beside My Bed

10 Nov
  1. Rich Woman by Kim Kiyosaki
  2. Dodger by Terry Pratchett 
  3. Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert Kiyosaki
  4. The Quiet Gentleman by Georgette Heyer
  5. The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart

We won’t get into the shelf of books that sits above my bedside table.  We’ll just concentrate on what is in easy reach of the reclining Rose.

You may have noticed that two of the Authors share the same last name.  That is not by accident, they are married.  Robert and Kim Kiyosaki have made it their mission to teach people around the world sound, but seldom thought of, advice for ethically acquiring wealth, and then making your money work for you.

Rich Woman is half autobiography and half how to start investing.  Kim writes in a way that is easily understood by the female mind (not that we are inferior in any way to the male half of the species.  It’s just that at times it takes a different set of words to help us absorb things.).  I really appreciated her candid admission to fear in the early, and not so early stages of her investment career.  I also enjoyed reading her advice and Q and A in the form of a series of lunch meetings with a group of her friends.

This is in no way the only book you should read before attempting to create a real estate empire (or any other investment you might choose).  This is just a very easy, and much appreciated read about the reasons and emotions, that surround us as we try to fight centuries of males dominating the financial world (without man-bashing, she is speaking more toward our own perceptions than anything else), and why the very things that make us feel unable to start, are usually our best reasons to start.

I have read it twice, and perhaps I will read it a third time, if I get the inclination.  For now, though, it will continue to be one of my frequent browsers.

Dodger is a fun novel that is covered in grit, full of knives, mud, and street urchins, but full of heart.  I have rarely met a Terry Pratchett book that I didn’t instantly love, and this one is another one for my favorites list.

The character of Dodger is so full, so genuine.  Sir Terry has once again created a wonderfully realistic world, this time in Victorian England.  I have yet to finish this book.  I have decided to (for once) take my time, and savor every last word of this delicious novel.  And, from what I have read so far, I think you should, too.

Rich Dad Poor Dad is also half autobiography, half how to wrap your mind around different concepts about money.  I think this is an excellent book to start with if you intend on reading any of Robert’s other works.  This book will help you understand the emotions and reasons behind Robert’s wanting to teach us these money and investing tools.  Rich Dad Poor Dad is an easy read, but has so much to offer, that I would recommend that you plan on reading it again a couple months later, just to be sure you caught it all.  I have read it twice, and it is still on this table, within easy reach.

          The Quiet Gentleman is still there, because the title makes me smile when I think about the character it refers to.  Being totally honest, the first few pages had me second-guessing whether I would be able to read the whole thing.  However, those first difficult scenes give perspective to the plot, showing you the minds and routines that our hero must change if things are going to improve.  Then there is the fact that someone is out to kill him.  Watching this ‘Quiet Gentleman’ handle these situations with such calm grace had me wondering what Georgette had in store for the end, and I was not disappointed.  This book is now one of my many favorites, alongside The Unknown Ajax, also by Georgette Heyer, which I bought from Amazon at the same time as The Quiet Gentleman.

          The Mysterious Benedict Society was a book I picked up in Wal-Mart.  In the close-out selections of the craft department was a wayward paperback with an intriguing illustration.  As my husband searched, for whatever we were there to purchase, I became engrossed by the back covers almost cryptic description.  Between the cool cover, the perfect hook on the back, and the fact that it almost felt like destiny to find a fascinating book in the crafts department, I just couldn’t put it down.  My dearest husband took one look at my starry-eyed expression and had only one question. “How much is it?”  I looked, and printed on the back cover, above the bar code, $6.99.  Smiling, he said “Alright, I found what we need.  Let’s go, Bookworm.”  So, with his arm around my shoulders, we headed for the checkout, and we bought a good book.

I used it over that summer as my Watering The Garden Book.  I would take it out back with me and read it as the sprinklers chick-chick-chicked away.  The poor thing has been forgotten over night and rained on, been dropped in the dirt and stepped on, more than once I held it with one hand and read while holding a sandwich in the other.  Amazingly, it still looks almost like the day I found it!  When did they start using Kevlar for book covers?

The Mysterious Benedict Society is a very good title for this story.  It is very mysterious, with plenty of twists and turns.  You are following the adventure of four children as they try to unravel a plot that could have disastrous results.  They just have to figure out what this evil plan is first.

I am now reading it a few pages at a time aloud, every night.  My husband and I stare at computer screens all day long, and this book is a great way to get our minds off the scrolling information that is still spinning through our minds.  What intrigues my husband is the fact that he has yet to guess the next step.  He has no idea what is coming, and because it’s been over a year since I read it, there are many details which I have forgotten.

Although technically a children’s book, this plot has tons of depth, and the wording is in no way juvenile.  In many ways, it reminds me of the way that the Harry Potter series draws in people of all ages.  It may be a children’s book, but it is by no means just for children.

There they are.  My bedside table stack of books.  I love every one of them for different reasons, but equally.

Until Next Time…

What books sit on your bedside table?

4 Responses to “The Stack of Books Beside My Bed”

  1. Lucinda Sutherland November 10, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    I’m supposed to have a bedside table? What if I don’t? Does the bookcase headboard count? What about the shelves along one side of the bed? Perhaps the extra bookcases we have stacked atop the bookcase headboard? Well, all that does is tell you that I have too many books in my bedroom and you definitely don’t want to read the list of them all.

    Like

    • rosedandrea November 11, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

      When I had a bookcase headboard it’s where I kept books I loved to re-read.

      Like

  2. Anna November 18, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    If I had a stack of books anywhere in my bedroom, I wouldn’t get any sleep at all. Both my kids have decreed that I shall not have the luxury of sleeping in past 8am EVER. They usually wake me up around 7:40 to make sure I don’t sleep too late. Hooray for toddlers! Kids keep you checking your schedule so as not to miss the all important play time with cousins, visits to Grammy’s house and dessert opportunities. 🙂

    Like

    • rosedandrea November 21, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

      I’ll have to agree with them on the dessert opportunities!

      Like

Leave a Reply

