Word Count And Excerpt

12 Nov

Today I decided that I was going to get more writing done for my NaNoWriMo project.  So, after putting my MP3 player earbuds in, and finding my hour-long thunderstorm, scooting the bag of almonds closer to my computer, checking that the cats didn’t have a legitimate reason to nag me, and finally pressing play on the MP3, I began to type.  Very quickly I found myself engrossed by the story my main character is putting down in her diary.  Before I knew it I had introduced a new character, and found a new victim for my murder spree.  Only once did I have to stop myself from going back and deleting a sentence. Other than that, it was very easy to just write and let the story find its own path.

I was a little surprised when the sound of rain ebbed away, signalling the end of an hour.

So, with a proud smile on my face, here is my new word count: 6,405.  With 1,240 of those written today.

Not bad for having sat down to write this thing only three or four times.

Well, now that I have patted myself on the back in full view of my adoring public (*looks around at a cluttered bedroom with two cats sprawled on the bed; oblivious to the self-congratulation*), I will now copy and paste a small piece of I Killed Them, Mama into this post.

*          *          *

Dear Mama,

I found my partner, it took a week, but she’s perfect.  It’s Ms. Love, my father-in-law’s secretary.  According to her, she was his lover 35 years ago, until his father decided it was time for him to get married and create the next generation.  Ms. Love had always figured he would marry her, but his father already had an innocent lamb of a woman picked out for the job.  My father-in-law gave her a job in his office as a parting gift, married the woman who became my husbands mother, and proceeded to get himself a brand new mistress.  He’s such a slime ball.  From the sounds of it his first wife died honestly thinking him he and his family were in the insurance business.  Poor fool.

Ms. Love is perfect not only because of her obvious reason to hate him, but because his Office Manager is actually his current slut, and doesn’t know a darn thing about what’s really going on with The Business (Italics later).  This should work out nicely.

*

Dear Mama,

We have started.

I invited my in-laws over for dinner last night.  Little do they know that all three of them are on the slow road to death.  I’ve never been a sadistic type of person, but this should be fun to watch.  Seeing their health slowly deteriorate as the first poison does its job of making them look like they’re developing heart issues.  Pale, clammy skin, difficulty taking a deep breath, exhaustion, dizziness.  Just a little at a time, and we’ll get to the interesting part soon enough.

I just have to be careful to time everything just right.  That will be the key to not being caught and subsequently being sent to prison.  I can’t be sent to prison.  Then there would be no one to take care of Lissie while she’s home for Christmas and Summer Vacation.  No one to move you to your Real burial plot.  No one to make sure that The Others pay, too, in their own ways.

*          *          *

Well, that’s all for me tonight.  I’ll keep you posted on my word count, beta-readers, and book reviewing as progress is made.  I found a few more useful blogs.  Hopefully they will end up on my Blogs I Like page, soon.

Until Next Time…

What are your writing rituals?  What does it take for you to zone out and just write?  Do you need music, munchies, and a vague plot?  Or do you need perfect silence, no distractions and a meticulously detailed story roadmap?  Is it helpful to talk with your significant other about where the story is going? (my husband frequently lets me use him as a sounding board for new ideas. He’s awesome like that) Or do you need to keep the whole thing to yourself?  Probably somewhere in-between, huh?

Let the world know your weird little tricks.  Someone may find them helpful.  At the very least it may help others know they’re not odd.  Well, not any odder than the rest of us writers.

.

7 Responses to “Word Count And Excerpt”

  1. Anna November 14, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    Hi. I think the second letter in the Nov. 12th post would make the perfect back cover reader hook. It tells enough to get you really interested, but doesn’t give away the full extent of the plot. Good stuff!

    Like

    • rosedandrea November 14, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

      Thank you for the suggestion! I hadn’t thought about it that way, but I think you may be right.
      Thanks for the reply.

      Like

  2. Anna November 21, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    I seem to require an actual desk, a real chair, someone else watching the kids and a profound lack of shreiking. Music helps, but only if I know the songs and really like the playlist. It doesn’t matter much if I talk to people about my writing or not, it goes slowly either way and I haven’t noticed an improvement in the quality. I have found that I work best with a strong understanding of my characters and a vague plot outline rather than a vague idea of characters and a bold plot all charted out.

    Like

    • rosedandrea November 21, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

      I agree with you on the characters and plot. I feel more in control, and more free with my writing if I know my characters well. If I’m working too closely with exactly where the plot should go things don’t run very smoothly.

      I also need a quiet space, and a particular noise in my ears. A while ago I got an hour long thunderstorm for my MP3 player. This does well for me. Not only is it something calm in my ears, but I know when an hour has passed.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Does Anyone Else…? « Rose's Road - January 2, 2013

    […] an excerpt of my romantic suspense, I Killed Them, Mama as it currently stands, click Here.  A synopsis is […]

    Like

  2. A Second Excerpt from I Killed Them, Mama « Rose's Road - January 7, 2013

    […] For other info, and another excerpt from I Killed Them, Mama, please read this post, and then this post. […]

    Like

  3. Outlining I Killed Them, Mama | Rose's Road - April 8, 2013

    […] Word Count And Excerpt […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

