A Late Night Christmas Post

25 Dec
Holly - No, I Wasn't drunk when I drew it!!!

Holly – No, I Wasn’t drunk when I drew it!!!

Here I sit, on my bed, beneath a blanket, and my brand new Laptop Holder with Advanced Cooling System (thanks Mom and Dad!).  In a few minutes I will have to get up and take another dose of cold medication.

I only managed to get to one family Christmas get-together this year, Christmas Eve evening.  My mother’s side of the family has already been passing this cold around, so those who don’t have it now have at least been exposed to it by someone else.  My father’s side of the family, though, decided to do a morning thing.  I already am not good at mornings, add a cold to that, and the fact that my late grandmother’s husband is very susceptible to lung problems, so we (hubby and I) opted to stay home and work on getting me better.

Christmas with my mother’s family is always an adventure.  Even though there are not a million of us, I suppose at times we can come across as though there are.  We all love to talk, laugh, and sing; and about half of us love to argue (some say debate, but since I hate confrontation, it always comes across as arguing).  After the dinner prayer was said by my father, we all took our turn through the kitchen and loaded our plates.  At that point the sounds in the room were compliments to the cooks, the children arguing over who’s plate belonged to whom, and the usual small noises associated with people eating a large, delicious meal.  Mashed Potatoes and Gravy!!!  Yum!

Fast forward half an hour, and we’re all relaxing in the living room, chatting away.  Someone asks, “when are we going to open the presents?”  One of my brothers-in-law puts on a Santa hat and begins handing out colorful bags and boxes.  Paper, ribbons, and tissue paper are flying through the air.  Half a dozen pocket knives come out of nowhere to aid in the opening of boxes and the release of various toys from their specially designed, impossible to open packaging.  Grandma has people listening intently just in case she should make the slightest noise of a want or need (she has rheumatoid arthritis).  The two little ones are soon in a battle of the wills over a new toy keyboard (the poor things were very overstimulated).

My husband received a DVD of Brave, t-shirts, cookies, goodies, etc.  I was given a new skirt, gloves, a book cozy, and a few other things.  We were both given some movie tickets, and a gift certificate to a restaurant we like.

What really made me happy was the way friends of the family, and fringe relatives were unthinkingly absorbed into our group.  No lengthy introductions, no seating them beside someone they might have something in common with.  We just let them come into our lives, tell them to make themselves comfortable, and treat them as though they’ve always been a part of us.  Having been reminded of the way my family treats guests, it’s little wonder at my having so many ‘sisters’: Young women who have been ‘adopted’ by my bio-sisters and I, and who are now just as important in our lives as each of the original four of us.  There have even been a couple who’s home lives were scrambled enough that they took to calling my parents Mom and Dad.

The importance of family and friends is loud and clear in the Christmas season (and Hanukkah :D).  I hope that you took some time to remind your loved ones how important they are to you.  If not, there’s still a few days before the New Year gets here, and the great Money Machine starts gearing up for St. Valentines day.

5 Responses to “A Late Night Christmas Post”

  1. lucindasutherland December 26, 2012 at 1:34 am #

    I am glad you got gifts that are useful and fun and nice. I hope that laptop stand works well for you, I thought of you as soon as I saw it and I made Dad check it out and make sure everything works on it.

    Like

    • rosedandrea December 28, 2012 at 1:27 am #

      It works great! My computer hasn’t gotten really hot since I started using it. Thanks, again.
      The skirt will hopefully make it through the washer in time to be worn for Church on Sunday. Lonnie got a new pair of jeans a few days ago, so maybe we’ll let them get acquainted by taking a trip for two (highly known to bleed fabrics) through the whole washing and drying process.

      Like

  2. ReGi McClain December 26, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    I like your family already! That “Come right in. We’re all family here,” mentality is so much more comfy than the “Here, let me introduce you to your designated buddy,” routine.

    Like

    • rosedandrea December 28, 2012 at 1:34 am #

      Thanks, ReGi! I’m proud of the way we do things, and it’s won us some true friends through the years.
      I have to admit, that there have been a few people who have crossed my path on this adventure that I would like to have “Come right in”, and you’re right on the top of that list.
      Going to have to hurry up and afford a few writer’s conferences so I can meet some of my very helpful internet friends! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

