My Letter to Winter

26 Jan

SNOW!

 

Dear Winter,

    While I have enjoyed watching your snow fall, appreciated the beautiful contrast of black trees against fog, and marveled at the river completely freezing over because it had been below zero for several days, I am tired of you.  Tired of having to wear four layers of clothing to walk out to a car.  Tired of frozen pipes.  Tired of the temperature being too cold for me to take walks when I’m feeling…twitchy.

I am ready for Spring.  Bring on the chirping robins, sprouting lettuce, and colorful cardigans.  Picnics in the park seem like a fond memory from decades past, rather than a thing I did several times just a few months ago with friends and family. 

What about Summer?  Flip-flops, tank-tops, shorts, and picking cherries with my mom and sisters.  Ah, and the carnivals and festivals…One of my favorite things to do is attend Weiser, Idaho’s Old Time Fiddler’s Contest.  In actuality, I have only been an observer of one evening of the contest.  But the hubbub surrounding the town is the real fun anyway.  The booths in the two larger parks, the music from the bandstands, the carnival food, oh, and the people watching.  I dearly love to people watch.  (*It’s so much fun to watch reactions to my husband and I holding hands.  He’s 22 years older than me, and I have this terrible affliction of looking almost 10 years younger than I actually am.  Especially when wearing a sun dress and flip-flops.*)

Then there is Fall.  Crisp Apples, falling leaves and sweaters.  The season where boots are a fashion statement, not a necessity.  I love my boots.  Little fawn colored ankle boots with a one-inch heel. Knee-high boots with three-inch heels.  Two pairs of thigh-high platform boots with five-inch heels, in both black and white.

My Dear Winter, while you do have your high points, we have had enough of cold weather illnesses; cutting wood to feed the fireplace, and paying mountains of money on propane to keep the pipes from freezing again.  I think it is about time you moved on and let one of the other seasons have a chance.

 

Sincerely,

Rose D’Andrea

.

7 Responses to “My Letter to Winter”

  1. Anna Fitch January 28, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

    I sincerely agree with most of this post. Winter is stalling and needs to get started on its fadeout. This is why proper Victorian houses have a large sitting room, excessively cold and wet days require an alternative place to walk about. My muscles are all getting grumpy about the length of winter and my entire body wants warmer weather.
    The trees in my back yard were full of fat, fluffy robins a few days ago and they left lots of nasty little spots in the previously perfectly white snow. They didn’t even bother to sing nicely for us. Just looked for food, made a mess and moved on to the next promising perch.

    Like

    • rosedandrea January 28, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

      Yes, I am feeling cramped up as well. Can’t wait until it’s nice enough to start taking walks again.

      Sorry the robins left a mess in your pretty back yard. I’ll have to have a word with them. 😉

      Like

      • Anna Fitch February 1, 2013 at 3:17 am #

        Right… Talking to robins gets you nothing good, just bird poop aimed at your head. Around here they are rather more annoying than the robins you see on TV and in movies. Rude!

        I should have been in bed about five hours ago… Ouch! Tired and achy! It is a very bad idea to stay up to finish a couple of little things! I always end up going to bed WAY too late! My babies will make me regret this even more in the morning… Drat!

        Like

  2. ReGi McClain February 1, 2013 at 10:02 pm #

    Can I have your affliction? Please?

    Like

    • rosedandrea February 1, 2013 at 10:34 pm #

      You mean my taking walks when I ‘get…twitchy’?
      Well, after growing up in a house of mostly females I am now living with two men. They were both total bachelors until I married one of them a couple years ago. We’re talking drinking from the milk jug, not immediately replacing the tp roll, seat left up, and a hundred other little things men do that annoy the tar out of women.
      I have found that it’s just better to walk off the frustration than to blow up. In the winter my only outlet is reading in my room for a while. Unfortunately, this adds to my waist-line. Boo!

      Like

      • ReGi McClain February 2, 2013 at 11:15 am #

        =0) I actually meant the looking younger than you are part, but it would be nice to be a walker, too. Not a good option for me, but I like the idea of it.

        Like

        • rosedandrea February 2, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

          Yes, looking barely out of my teens when just turned 29. It can be fun at times (totally going to be carded for Years!) It’s also fun when you get in those situations where someone is trying to guess everyone’s ages. lol I’m always the one gesturing upwards with her thumb, and an ornery grin on her face.

          Like

Leave a Reply

