Some Day, a Very Dangerous Idea

1 Feb

How many times have you told yourself that you would do something ‘some day‘?

Some day I will visit Italy.
Some day I will learn Klingon.
Some day I will watch the entirety of Star Trek: Voyager.
Some day I will write a book.

Too many times.

(My some days are too far away for my comfort.  Especially since I have a very long list of things that I would like to get done some day.)

So, what are we going to do about this situation?  Sit around and continue adding to our never-to-be-checked-off list?  Give up?  Or get off our duffs (or in the case of writers, sit at the computer) and make things happen so that we can take those moments to enjoy our some days.

What do I need to do to get to my some day?  Heh…A lot.  I need to start earning money, for one.  I also need to get in better shape.  Get a passport.  Figure out our new blue ray player.  Et cetera, et cetera, et cetera.

The first step, I feel, is getting the first of many books published.  I have so many plans, thoughts, and figures, but nothing really finished yet.  Occasionally I feel like a bit of a failure, but that’s where spending time with other writers comes into play.  I had the idea that writers were a territorial bunch, but really we’re (for the most part) a friendly, helpful, encouraging set of people just trying to make it work.  We realize that books don’t write themselves, and they certainly aren’t written over night.  Spending a little energy cheering someone else on today, will come back to us next week when we realize that last chapter sucked, or our computer crashed taking the 3,000 words we just wrote to a binary grave.

After some thought, and research, I have decided to restructure the plans for my writing career.  Not really a total overhaul, but certainly changing a few things around, giving myself more time on the larger projects (seriously underestimated the amount of time these things would take!), and adding a few smaller projects between them.

To be honest it has taken a bit of the strain away.  I still want to get a lot of things done in an unrealistic time-frame.  But then that’s always been one of my biggest faults — expecting far too much of myself.

I guess we’ll see how the next few months go.  Keep you posted.

*        *        *

Do I have a moral to this story?  Uh, maybe.  Let’s see…

  • Find a group of people who support you.  It’s especially helpful if at least a couple of them are also writers.
  • Be flexible with your big life plans.  You never know all the details.  Sometimes that detour can be the best thing that ever happened to your writing abilities, and thus your career.
  • Don’t be afraid to mix it up, or to try new things.  I never thought I was a very creative person until I took an essay class in college.  It was there that I found out that I have talent. (Far from perfect, but then talents always need a little refining before they’re Awesome.)

*        *        *

What are some of your some days?

Have you expected too much of yourself these last few weeks?

Thoughts???

.

9 Responses to “Some Day, a Very Dangerous Idea”

  1. Laura Oliva February 2, 2013 at 9:56 am #

    Love this post! I can totally relate to expecting too much from yourself. In my case, my husband is holding down 2 jobs right now for me to be able to stay home with our young son and work on my writing. It’s great, he’s wonderful, but I always feel like there’s more i should be doing to start making money and contributing, especially when he comes home after a 14-hour day and collapses into bed. I always have to remind myself to breathe deep and stay the course. It’ll all work out…

    Like

    • rosedandrea February 2, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

      I understand the guilt thing. Having to suppress the panic that arises over not doing anything that will add to the immediate finances. I’ve adopted the phrase ‘future money’ (can not remember which book I found it in, sorry. I’ll look for it). I’m working on ‘future money’ right now, so that hopefully in a few years we won’t have to do too much to earn our keep.

      Good luck, Laura! Can’t wait til your book is published and I can read it and crow about the awesome book my friend wrote. 🙂
      So many cool writer friends all working on books, so little patience. lol 😉

      Like

  2. ReGi McClain February 2, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

    Heh… essay class. 😎

    Like

    • rosedandrea February 3, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

      lol The professor’s name was Darcy Bennet (the last names of the main characters from Pride and Prejudice). I always thought it was a cool name for an English professor. I learned a lot from her, even though she was mentally still partly in the 60’s burning bras and preaching an uncomfortably extreme form of feminism.

      Like

  3. laurabennet February 5, 2013 at 2:10 am #

    You should check out bucketlistpublications since you have such a great list of things to do! Way to go in pursuing your dreams of writing. I’m with you!

    Like

    • rosedandrea February 5, 2013 at 8:17 pm #

      Thanks for the compliment on the bucket list. It’s a short example of my long (and as yet unwritten) list of important/fun/Awesome things I want to do eventually.

      I’m amazed at the amount of writers I have found out on the internet. Several of you ladies and gentlemen have become my friends and encouragers. For that I will be forever grateful. 🙂

      Like

  4. Anna Fitch February 8, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

    My Somedays are temporarily unattainable, but I keep playing with a few of them in my Word documents so they won’t be quite so far away when my kids are done wanting every tiny bit of my attention. In no particular order, someday I’ll… Teach my two kids to read… Keep my house nice and tidy… Stop eating too much candy… Get back into shape… Publish clean, fun, young adult fiction… Be a certified Braille Transcriber… Become more involved in politics because we need more common sense in our government… Grow a beautiful vegetable garden surrounded by fruit trees, berry bushes and nut trees/bushes… Have enough money to hire a maid twice a week and adopt a couple of kids into the family… Open a nonprofit school… Maybe even try out for American Idol, get a Masters degree in engineering/business/ecology or something else exciting, end world hunger, fix the global economy and pilot a space ship! The trouble is, I’m interested in too many different types of things to decide where to start and what to emphasize.
    I think maybe I should start at home by weaning my son the rest of the way over the next four months or so, teaching my daughter the basic letter sounds and building a nice little garden that I can expand a bit each year.

    Like

    • rosedandrea February 9, 2013 at 11:41 pm #

      Nice bucket list. I’ll just smile and wave as you leave in the space ship. Not getting Me up in one of those things.

      The few goals in that last paragraph sound like a good start. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

