But This Isn’t

7 Mar

Another duo of poems from my shortly to be published book of bathroom poetry.

 

But This Isn’t

Books and magazines

Are stacked all around this chair

But this isn’t a library

Although they do have this chair

Laundry is piled up high

Waiting to be washed

But this isn’t a laundry room

In this room something else is washed

Polish and make-up and hairspray

Clutter the entire counter

But this isn’t a salon

No money passes over this counter

The line is three people deep

All waiting for the bathroom

But this isn’t a store restroom

It is this house’s only bathroom

* * *

Floating in Water

Like lovely music

Fragrant water covers me

Unwinding the day

Floating in water

My body now relaxes

In the gentle heat

Melting my worries

As a bright, warm day in May

Melts the mountain snow

*      *      *

Please let me know what you think about these two.

To read the other poems I have posted on this blog you can go Here, Here, and Here.

&    &    &

At a friendly prompting by Laura Oliva I took a peek at the formatting instructions on Smashwords.com.  I had been stressing about how  to format my book of poetry (procrastination to the extreme!), and she suggested it as an easy to understand set of instructions that translate well to Amazon.  After getting onto Smashwords I took a look around. And all I can say is Wow!  I thought Amazon was the big kid on the block.  So, now I am going to take a few days to familiarize myself with this new site, and see if I can get up the courage to take the plunge into publishing my own work.

By the way, Laura’s first book has just come out!  It’s a romance novel entitled All That Glitters

Thanks, Laura, and good luck!  🙂

3 Responses to “But This Isn’t”

  1. laurabennet March 11, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

    Love the second one! You made me want to go soak in a warm tub 🙂

    Like

    • rosedandrea March 12, 2013 at 1:48 am #

      Thanks! I’m glad you liked it.
      It’s my first semi successful attempt at a haiku.
      The only reason I really have any clue as to what those are is because I’ve seen the episode of Avatar: The Last Airbender where Sokka has a haiku battle of the wits with someone. Funny. 🙂

      If you’re lost as to who I’m talking about here’s the link to Avatar: The Last Airbender’s Wikipedia page:
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Avatar:_The_Last_Airbender#Characters

      Like

      • laurabennet March 12, 2013 at 10:57 am #

        Thanks! Haven’t watched it, but familiar with the title. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

