Video

Will I Ever Be Worthy?

14 May

I was reminded about The Thin Man series on Friday. My Aunt and I were talking about William Powell (after watching My Man Godfrey), how much we like his acting and the roles he chose.

This got me wondering if I would ever be good enough to have written lines for him.  He was, and still is, famous for his one line zingers. Do I have the kind of raw talent that would have been needed to show him at his best?

Here are some of the snappy lines from The Thin Man.

Now, I don’t know how many of these lines were in the book before it became the script that they worked from, how many were added to the script, and how many of these little treasures were ad-libs between two actors who were comfortable friends.

All I know is that perhaps it wouldn’t be a bad idea to have William Powell say my fun/quirky/ironic male dialogue back to me (in my head, of course) before I commit to keeping it in any of my works. Who knows, maybe that habit will get me a movie deal some day.

A girl can dream, can’t she? 😉

.

2 Responses to “Will I Ever Be Worthy?”

  1. ReGi McClain May 16, 2013 at 6:00 pm #

    William Powell really did a great job in those old movies. I saw one that wasn’t funny, though. A murder mystery or something that went completely against his normal character roles. It was very impressive to see a comedian turn around and do suspense.

    Like

  2. rosedandrea May 16, 2013 at 8:23 pm #

    It is sometimes very impressive to see someone show how talented and capable they are as an actor. Then there are the times when other people try and step out of their usual roles and just show the world how two dimensional their acting capabilities really are. It’s sad, and a little painful to watch.

    Johnny Depp has impressed me as a very versatile actor, doing movies as far ranging as Edward Scissor Hands, to Benny & Joon, then making Captain Jack Sparrow his own. (at this point, could you honestly visualize anyone but him in that role?)

    Another actor I really enjoy is Hugh Jackman. To be able to be both Leopold (swoon) in Kate & Leopold, And Wolverine in XMen…that’s some talent. (can you tell I like movies? lol)

    Like

Leave a Reply

