Hungry, Hungry, Always Wanting More

7 Jun

How many kinds of hunger are there?

Hunger for food, power, knowledge, money, love. Any number of things. And how often is that hunger filled? You can get full of food. I know I have hit the wall on knowledge a few times. (Overload *head explodes*)

Full up on Love, now that is another matter. We all need love, whether we want to admit it or not. Love keeps us sane. Love teaches us empathy, sympathy, how to care for another human being.

Feeling loved is something that is hard to describe. It can be a warm feeling that fills your body, a liquid sunshine that radiates joy through every cell of your being. It can be utter relaxation as you snuggle into bed beside your partner (especially when he throws an arm around you and pulls you in a little closer. Heaven!).

Not feeling loved is another thing altogether. It can actually be painful, an overwhelming, gut-gnawing feeling in the pit of your stomach. Or an ice hot marble that rolls down your spine when you finally work up the nerve to say it for the first time and the recipient takes a moment before responding. Whether their answer is positive or negative, there is still that moment of terror at the thought of being rejected.

That’s just romantic love.

What about love for a parent, love for a child, a sibling, a friend,…a car?

I love my car. Our Buick is a wonderful vehicle. It gets great gas mileage, is comfortable to drive, and handles the freeway like a dream. I love driving it.

I love driving a stick-shift, too! Oh. My. Gosh! do I love driving a stick-shift. I didn’t hardly know what a turbo-charger was until I borrowed my husband’s (fiance at the time) fun little sports car a couple of times. Love…yeah. Shifting down to pass a tractor, shifting back up to take off after getting back in your lane…*gasp* all that glorious work to get back to fourth after a stoplight…*drools*. Yes, I love stick-shifts. Especially when some punk kid revs beside you. *cackles*

–ahem— yeah, I should be careful. He reads this blog.

lol I don’t speed (anymore). I just leave them in the dirt on my way to the speed limit. Then let them pass me, keeping my finger crossed that there’s a cop in the next corner, because they are going a little fast to compensate for having been dusted off a light by a girl.

Where where we???

Yes, love.

I love to drive.

I love to eat! As long as it’s yummy. Yummy food is…er, yummy.

I love to get hugs from good friends.

When I was young I was really shy. But there were the occasional times when I got interested in things enough to leave the doubts and second thoughts behind. This happened one morning at Church when an older couple I had never seen walked in (I say older, but I was like 14 at the time). I walked up and gave him a handshake and her a hug. It was instant love. She gives the worlds best hugs. I kid you not, the best. I informed them there and then that whatever they were doing otherwise that this was now their Church. They have attended ever since.

Love is necessary to a full and happy life. To love and be loved. If you are not giving love to someone then you are missing out on one of life’s treasures. Loving someone is a true adventure. There are plenty of times when that person will annoy the living tar out of you, but you love them, you choose to continue loving them. Even while resisting the urge to hold a pillow over their face. You have made that commitment. Stay committed and you will reap some amazing rewards as the relationship just gets deeper and deeper. There will be rough patches, maybe some yelling, and certainly some way too quiet days. Just hold on. It will get better if you are both open to the fact that someone was hurt, you both feel like crap, and you need to find a way to communicate through the pain and defensive guilt.

Love. It is a feeling. It is sometimes a choice. It is necessary if you are going to truly sample the wares of this thing called The Human Existence.

Here’s the link, in case the video won’t play on here. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xf5SDKcfFkU

Leave a Reply

