I Love Playing On Swings (And How It Translates Into My Writing Life)

15 Jun
Huh...You can see me taking a photo of me in the shadow of me. ;)

Huh…You can see me taking a photo of me in this shadow of me. 😉

I love to swing on swings. Always have. Hopefully always will.

There is something so freeing about flying through the air, with the wind in your hair, and the sun shining down of you. It’s lovely.

It kind of made me think, though. In swinging you have ups and you have downs.

Much of life has ups and downs. Good and bad. Easy and hard. Fun and boring.

Let’s talk about the fun and boring part.

Fun stuff is…well, fun.  Boring stuff…is self explanatory.

And they are both relative.

Where I would be bored almost to tears sitting in a financial planning seminar, someone else could be totally jazzed about the potential of applying it to their life, or business.

And where I consider it fun to sit around all day reading old romance novels and drinking tea, others would find it mind-meltingly dull.

Relative.

But that’s not where I really wanted to take this post.

Where I wanted to go is: I think I may be something of a ‘muse’ writer. And right now, my muse is very silent.  Not cool.

Talk about ups and downs? This is a down in my writing.

It doesn’t help that my computer is in the living room, the main thorough-fare for the house. It’s pretty hard to really get into what you’re working on when you’re 10′ from the front door, the dogs want out and in again, people want to know what you’re working on (grrr), and all you can think about is the state of your kitchen (which is sitting two rooms behind you. Staring at the back of your head).

Perhaps this season of my life is learning self-control?

Learning how to say “Please don’t bother me. I just finally got comfortable and have actually written 5 sentences that don’t suck.”

Learning to ignore the kitchen’s accusing stare, and making myself actually schedule dish washing times.

Learning to write when the muse isn’t forcing me to jot something down.

Maybe it’s a season of learning instead. Huh.

?        ?        ?

Are you in a season of learning?

Have you learned something about yourself recently that could be a helpful lesson for the rest of the class?

P.S. there isn’t another room for me to put my computer. The router is in here, and my WiFi thingy is broken on this poor old thing, so it’s in the living room so I can have internet. Can’t take it outside, either. The battery is shot. It must be plugged in while it’s on, or it won’t be on for more that five minutes. :/  Yeah, replacing the writer’s computer is one of the first 10 things we’re going to do when one of our projects comes through for us.

*sigh* Until then… Patience is being drilled into me. lol

At least I can go swinging when it gets to be too much! 😀

I may be a grown-up, but that doesn't mean I can't occasionally act like a kid.  :)

I may be a grown-up, but that doesn’t mean I can’t occasionally act like a kid. 🙂

.

3 Responses to “I Love Playing On Swings (And How It Translates Into My Writing Life)”

  1. ReGi McClain June 15, 2013 at 10:40 am #

    Hmm… You need to spend some time observing mothers of 3+ children. Only people with special awesomeness can match their ability to tune out the world around them. I tried really hard to find a clip of a comedian who has a sketch about it, but I couldn’t (it doesn’t help that I don’t know the comedian’s name). Basically, there’s a woman standing in church visiting after the service is over, her child is running around her saying, “Mom, mom mom mom mom mom!” and everyone hears the kid BUT the mom.

    Like

    • rosedandrea June 16, 2013 at 12:05 am #

      Mothers with 3+ kids are the awesomeness at handling noise and chaos (my own mother included). Really, I had better learn, since I am planning to have 4. Just waaay out of practice myself. (baby-sitting, daycare, life guarding, teaching pre-school Sunday school — yeah, it’s been a while. lol)

      Like

      • ReGi McClain June 16, 2013 at 4:52 pm #

        Honestly, I did a lot of that kind of stuff, too, and thought I’d be all good for mothering. Not so much. :-/ The tuning out thing comes with time, though, whether you want it to or not. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

