A Monster Eating My Brain!

22 Jun

I have a monster eating my brain!

Although, I don’t feel any pain.

My thoughts are coming slower.

I feel like a wilting flower.

The day was far too long.

The night is near half gone.

Sleep is what I need.

“Sleep!” is what I plead.

The monster is exhaustion.

It haunts my every motion.

Dragging on my arms and legs,

it feasts away; my body sags.

Please, where is my pillow?

That will make this monster go.

“Away, away with you!”, I say.

“I have had enough for one day.”

I shall see thee on the morn,

When my body feels less torn.

After a good night’s sleep;

A rest of slumber deep.

.

Good night, Sun!

Good night, Sun!

.

9 Responses to “A Monster Eating My Brain!”

  1. rosedandrea June 23, 2013 at 6:51 pm #

    Now that I’m looking it over again, I am seeing that a couple of the phrases could be moved around to make it work better. For the most part, though, I like it. πŸ™‚

    What do you guys think?

    Like

  2. laurabennet June 25, 2013 at 9:12 am #

    Well, I can certainly relate!

    Like

    • rosedandrea June 25, 2013 at 11:56 pm #

      Hahaha! Yeah. That same monster is taking bites at me again as I type. lol

      Thanks for commenting! πŸ˜€ It’s nice to know the poem resonated with you.

      Like

  3. Anna June 28, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

    That’s pretty much every day for me. I can’t point out any one thing that makes me tired. I wake up tired, waft through the day tired and usually go to bed a little more awake than I was in the morning. How do I get rid of this monster that’s eating my life?

    Like

    • rosedandrea June 28, 2013 at 11:40 pm #

      I really don’t know. I tend to be a little more awake after some sort of exercise, though. My vitamins have kept me from keeling over, but they certainly don’t put any pep in my step. Even the sub-lingual B-12 tablets! Oof-da.
      Currently working on getting more water into me on a daily basis, since it’s flirting with the low 100’s right now.
      I know summer just got here, but can it just be fall already?! *eye roll* This is going to be a long one.

      Like

  4. ReGi McClain July 11, 2013 at 1:30 pm #

    Ooo! I like it. How’d I miss this one? Anyway, very nicely done. I’m well acquainted with that particular monster. I used to be able to fend him off pretty well, but these days he gets the better of me more often than I’d like to admit.

    Like

    • rosedandrea July 12, 2013 at 11:50 pm #

      That poem was fun to write. It was also written while I was completely exhausted, so I’m pretty amazed that it makes any sense. lol

      I think over the years this ‘monster’ gets to know our real weaknesses and learns how to twist them until we give in and go take that nap, or drink that cup of caffeine. πŸ˜‰

      Like

      • ReGi McClain July 13, 2013 at 12:50 pm #

        I think in my case it has more to do with childbearing. I know several other moms who got to a point when they could only pull off short-sleep nights if they had to. πŸ™‚

        Like

  5. rosedandrea October 18, 2013 at 2:38 am #

    Reblogged this on Rose's Road and commented:

    I’m feeling this way again. It was a good day. A busy day. No writing, though. Chores, errands, a meeting, another errand, family dinner, went out for dessert, late night shopping.
    Yes, this monster is chowing down. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

