I Went Dancing For The First Time In How Long?

22 Jun

Lonnie and I went down to the local senior center this evening. The sign says all ages welcome… So after I got a few things squared away at the house, and a couple errands run we were free to go have a little fun. Maybe.

I was wondering if they were serious about the whole everyone welcome vibe on their sign. Sometimes the sign or flier or whatever will say one things, and the feel of the ‘regulars’ says another.

After nagging for almost a week that I wanted to go, Lonnie practically had to drag me up to the front door.  We got to the door and the notice on it said that the charge per person had gone up to $5. Thankfully I had put a little extra cash in my purse on the way out the door, or we would have had to turn around there and then.

We get inside the ‘airlock’ and see a sign that reads something like: Voicing of religious and political opinions is strictly prohibited here at the senior center.

Okaaay…

He shepherds me to take a couple more steps, and opens the door for me. *gulp*

I kinda side-step into the room, looking around at the half dozen couples foxtrotting on the dance floor. They seem nice enough. We are being looked at in almost a startled way, but no one is glaring or anything.

So far so good.

We no sooner get three steps in the door that a white haired woman approaches and welcomes us, with a fussing air of someone trying to remember how to do it. She was charming, but a little thrown by our arrival. So, it would seem, were the rest of the occupants.

Still a little nervous, I dig in my purse for my wallet and hand over the $10 while Lonnie signs the guest book. After I put down my signature, we are encouraged to take the floor and enjoy ourselves.

Folks, it has been at least 2 years since we actually danced. We tried a little two-step, something he learned in his youth that I had never tried until we met. We did a little foxtrot, managed a decent waltz, and even played with a rumba.

And you know what???

We didn’t stomp all over each other!

The steps were slow in returning to our feet, but we both held on to the idea that this was for fun, and laughed our way through the feelings of looking like we were just bumbling along. Which we were, but we had fun with it.

Through the rest of the evening several couples were introduced to us, and a few more came up and said hi all of their own volition.

I even had the pleasure of dancing with 3 of the old gentlemen. Which is exactly what they were: Gentlemen.

Lonnie ‘cut a rug’ with their wives, and it looked like they were also having a good time.

After the initial nervousness and feelings of uncertainty eased away it turned into a nice way to pass an evening.

They have a live band every week, snacks at intermission, and a really nice lounge area off which a hallway leads to the restrooms. I can personally attest that the ladies room was very clean.

We will be going back in a couple of weeks. Our schedule is a little full to attend every Friday, but we will be return whenever there is time.

*        *        *

When’s the last time you danced?

When was the last time you almost chickened out on something you really wanted to do? Did you chicken out and regret it, or did you stick through the fear give it a try? Were the results good or did they leave you in a soggy pile of despair and angst?

I wanna know!!! 🙂

(P.S. Yes, I know my tense is all over the place, but I’m just too worn out to straighten it all out. Thanks for noticing, though!)

My feet hurt! But I did have a lot of fun. :)

My feet hurt! But I did have a lot of fun. 🙂

6 Responses to “I Went Dancing For The First Time In How Long?”

  1. rosedandrea June 22, 2013 at 12:43 am #

    Hey! The stats just told me that this is my 80th post! How cool is that?!!

    Like

    • jessmittens June 22, 2013 at 4:30 am #

      Nice! I am apparently almost at number 200 :/ Which is frightening, so many!

      I last danced at a friends 21st some months ago and had a great time. I wish there were good places to dance in my town.

      Like

      • rosedandrea June 22, 2013 at 7:09 pm #

        Congrats on getting close to 200! 🙂

        The last time I had ‘danced’ was also at a friend’s 21st birthday party. We all went into the nearest larger city and had a blast.

        There is also something of a shortage of decent places to dance around here. Really glad the senior center is open to us ‘youngsters’ crashing their party. We got told that another senior center one town over has a country/western theme band on their dance night. It may be worth a try. Although I can’t two-step worth anything…yet. One of the gentlemen at the dance seemed to be having fun teaching me the steps. Funny thing is, I was having fun learning! 🙂

        Like

  2. lucindasutherland June 22, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

    So glad you had a good time! But you didn’t answer the really important question… What did you wear?

    Like

    • rosedandrea June 22, 2013 at 7:04 pm #

      Lonnie said to say “Clothes”. lol Such a male response.

      I wore the dark green plaid, knee length skirt you bought me a while ago, a black shirt with a V neckline, and my knee-high 2″ heel black boots.

      🙂

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Old People Are Cool! | Rose's Road - August 16, 2013

    […] A while ago I wrote a post about how my husband and I went dancing at the local senior center. You can read it here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

