Not A Good Week

5 Jul

Yeah. Really not.

  • My writing is at something of a stand still again.
  • I’ve missed a couple deadlines on my other blog.
  • My blood sugar has been hard to balance.
  • I fear this computer is on it’s way out.
  • The heat just about killed me on Wednesday.
  • Although I like the new swim suit (it’s pretty) the number on the size tag makes me want to have a good old fashioned childish tantrum (which, really, could be a better work-out than the walks).
  • And one of our cats has decided that my kitchen window plant is the tastiest thing on the planet. That poor plant had just really begun to show promise that it would survive the previous ravaging.

Also…

I’ve done a tiny bit of research and I think I may fall into a category of people called HSP, or Highly Sensitive Person. This means that I feel the emotions around me (think Diana Troy, but not that precise). If I’m tired it can get pretty bad if the emotions are strong and negative, literally reducing me to tears apparently.

I’ve always known I was able to sympathize really well, and being around stressed out people puts me on edge. Angry men, even if it’s well bottled, make me feel really nervous, almost queasy.

I can’t sleep if Lonnie’s head is spinning, it makes me feel twitchy. I have to play with his hair to calm his mind so he can sleep…so I can sleep. lol

It was a plus while I was helping in sales and finance. I could help my colleagues negotiate deals by finding what the predominant emotion was and helping deal with it.

In writing it does not take much for me to get into the emotional heads of my characters, and to help them emote onto the page.

Right now, though, I am trying to learn how to put up barriers when I’m around certain people or emotionally charged areas. This could take some work, but will hopefully pay off when I no longer want to cry while in the presence of a couple acquaintances. They are good people. They work hard, care about their families, and all that good stuff, but they apparently are under a lot of stress right now and being around them makes my chest tighten, my heart rate goes up, I feel sort of disoriented, and have to suppress the urge to just bawl my eyes out.

I hope in the near future they will learn to deal with this stress. If what I’m feeling is just part of their inner turmoil they could be in for some medical problems here pretty soon.

For me…I will do more research so I can save my sanity.

^       *        ^        *        ^

I don’t cry well. My eyes get red and puffy, I get weak and shaky, and most of the time I get a bit of a tension headache afterward. Not fun.

This is an example from Sense and Sensibility:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=88_tyulOQDE

Yeah…not pretty.

I love Elinor, though (Emma Thompson does such a good job). She has to be the sensible one. Bottling heavy emotions just so she can take care of her little family. Although I always want to cry fowl when she finally admits to her sister that she likes Edward and has to comfort HER because she starts crying on Elinor’s behalf! Sheesh!

*        ?        *        ?        *

What are things that set you on edge?

Are you one of those obnoxious people who can cry without looking like you caught a basketball in the forehead? 😉

Or do you just really like Sense and Sensibility?

 

Leave a Reply

