Shrinking To The Real Me

27 Jul
Where's my silver lining?

Where’s my silver lining?

.

From deep within

A cry begins.

There is no escape

From this monstrous shape.

I see what is true,

It cannot continue.

This dress size you see

Is not the real me.

The workouts may hurt,

And the diet is work,

But I will not fail

To step on the scale.

My husband deserves

A woman with curves.

It will take some time,

For I’ve passed size nine,

But I will persevere

In shrinking my rear.

Because I miss that black dress

That made my husband confess

That his wife is a 10,

And he, the luckiest of men.

*            *            *

I did not realize how painful this poem is until I read it aloud (a crucial step in my proof-reading).

I almost cried. 

I really liked being the trophy wife, his midlife crisis,…being the reason this former bachelor’s friends did a double take when he introduced his wife. Perhaps it’s my age catching up with me, or the fact that we can’t afford to go to places that call for tall heels and slinky dresses, but it is glaringly obvious that this woman/wife needs to find a way to recapture some of the sexy that she forgot she has.

But for now, I am going to go to bed and try not to cry myself to sleep. Tomorrow is going to be another busy day and I’m going to need all the rest I can get.

.

Nope, I think the crying is going to happen.

Sorry pillow, you are going to get wet.

.

One Response to “Shrinking To The Real Me”

  1. ReGi McClain July 27, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

    I’m not sure if I should hit “like” on this one. The poem is well-written, but that’s an awful feeling. One I know much too well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

