Surviving Camp Moose Creek, Pt. 1

30 Jul

This is the first bit of the story I have been working on to entertain you while I help with crafts at Vacation Bible School at a friend’s church.

I’ve had fun writing it so far, and am now up do day seven of his camp experience.

Let me know what you think so far. 🙂

*            *            *

Dear diary,

 

I have survived the first day of this thing they call “summer camp”.  I’m at a loss as to why anyone would refer to this as fun.

Below is a list of things which already irritate me about this ‘experience’.

  •     Most of the activities take place outside.  * shudder *
  •      My mother seems to have forgotten that I am allergic to pine trees
  •      The lake is heavily guarded by mosquitoes

 .

It may take a bit of investigation but preliminary findings suggest that the entire camp staff it is on crack or some other amphetamine.  Normal people are just not that excited about the prospect of basket weaving and braided friendship bracelets.

 .

 .

Dear diary,

 .

Day two of summer camp has been…  Endured.  I now have a black eye from a softball, a bruised shin from a field hockey stick, and perpetually running sinuses from being around my one and only identified allergen – pine trees.

I have found no concrete evidence in the theory that the camp staff is on an amphetamine.  Although I begin to suspect that their coffee is laced with it.  I must obtain a sample for testing.

 .

 .

Dear diary,

 .

The third day of summer camp is now behind me.  I’m seriously considering a means of escape.  I attempted to walk the parameter today, but was detoured three times by camp staffers.  It would seem that I’m not the first camper to consider this strategy.

 .

I hope that the food improves.  Thankfully my mother provided a generous stipend for purchasing a camp T-shirt and bike rentals.  If the camp kitchen continues with this inadequate fare I may end up spending the entirety of it on apples and bags of nuts from the snack shack.  Now that I think about it, perhaps this is their intention.

Continuing on the subject of the kitchen, I regret to have to say I have been unable to procure a sample of the coffee.  This may take more work than I’d previously thought.

.

*            *            *

What do you think so far?

.

On another note, I am now able to go without my wrist brace for small amounts of time. It still doesn’t want to do much, but typing almost seems therapeutic. Who am I to stand in the way of ‘physical therapy’?

.

When did these nails get so Long?!!

When did these nails get so Long?!!

.

One Response to “Surviving Camp Moose Creek, Pt. 1”

  1. Lucinda Sutherland July 30, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

    Very interesting story. However, you probably mean your character walked the perimeter rather than the parameter. I enjoy the comments about the overly perky staff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

