Video

Surviving Camp Moose Creek pt. 4 – And An Overload Of Cute

2 Aug

You guessed it, here’s the fourth installment of the story I’m writing to share with you while my schedule spins at a wonky angle this week.

(Thankfully I only have another two days before the craziness ends and things get back to a more normal schedule. My husband has already declared that Sunday will be a total rest day for me. I’m not arguing. Had a headache since about 11:30 this morning. Grrr. Needless to say, I’m heading for bed the moment this post is scheduled.)

Let me know what you think so far!

*            *            *

Dear Diary,

.

At my breakfast snack shack visit I discovered why the girl wasn’t there yesterday evening. She got braces. They are pink and purple. She says they really hurt, and she hates how they make her look. I told her they aren’t that noticeable. She smiled, winced, and said thanks.

There wasn’t anyone behind me, so I asked her what her name was. Maria.

.

The kid I played soccer with yesterday afternoon said hi to me in the lunch line. Then when I was looking for a quiet corner to hide in, and push my food around, he waved me over to sit at his table.

His name is Devon, and he is here with his twin brother Darron. They don’t look that much alike, but still finish each others sentences. Devon asked if it was OK for his brother to kick around with us that evening. He seemed intelligent, so I acquiesced. A few minutes later another boy came to the table. It turns out his name is Almonzo and his only hobbies are Dungeons and Dragons, and soccer. He also joined us for our evening game.

.

Playing two on two soccer is a very pleasant was to pass that annoying time between what they call dinner and the campfire torture session. Seemingly endless rounds of Row, Row, Row You Boat could be used as an interrogation technique at Guantanamo.

*            *            *

Now it’s your turn: What should happen next?

Should he get discovered tapping into the WiFi? His cousin leave something strange for him in the hollow log? Should he ask the snack shack girl out for a walk? Lead a revolt during arts and crafts?

Or will aliens attack and steal the soccer ball after vaporizing the mess hall?!?

*            *            *

Now for the cuteness! A baby elephant trying to figure out this whole walking thing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=InCUx_Z3AYo

.

3 Responses to “Surviving Camp Moose Creek pt. 4 – And An Overload Of Cute”

  1. Lucinda Sutherland August 2, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

    Does our camper like Dungeons and Dragons? Do they talk about it? Do they try to play it or LARP it at camp? Is our camper still doing the WiFi thing every day or just some days? Is there poison ivy or a canoe trip or maybe two days of thunderstorms that keep everyone inside? Of course, I have heard of food poisoning and/or lice having serious effects at a camp setting….

    Like

    • rosedandrea August 5, 2013 at 12:18 am #

      All good suggestions! I’ll have to write them on a note pad and look at the list next time I work on the story. It will be interesting too see which one my creative mind decides to run with. 🙂

      Like

      • rosedandrea August 5, 2013 at 12:21 am #

        Now that I think about it a little more, it could be more than one that gets incorporated into the story.
        The gears are turning.
        Time for bed now, I wonder what the subconscious will come up with in the night? 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

