A Rant About Those Who Give Their Writing Away

8 Aug

Don’t get me wrong. I can see having certain works for free. Free is good. Free is awesome!

Just don’t expect me to give all this really hard work away for free!

You may have philosophical ideas about ‘art’ and believe that it should be available to all people from all places and all walks of life.

Great!

That’s you.

Not me.

I don’t intend on charging an arm and a leg, but I would like some compensation for the years that these projects are taking (not to mention that I’m learning the art of social networking, with a minor in internet marketing).

You may have written your heart out into a 90,000 word epic, then decided to give it to the world as a token of your wonderfulness. But I plan on making a career out of this. I am not doing all this just so I can say I got something published, or so I have something to tell the grand kids. I plan on making a living off my writing (and a couple other projects, but that’s beside the point). I can’t do that if I go around just giving it all away.

.

Now, I am thinking of writing a book of shorts to put up for free.

Why?

Because:

  1. I am curious to see what the outcome would be.
  2. I want to practice short stories anyway.
  3. It would be great advertising for my other works.

.

See? I’m not a completely selfish, money-grubbing Capitalist.

.

Is this making any sense, or am I just raving to the moon? :/

Is this making any sense, or am I just raving to the moon? :/

.

Ok, now that I have kicked a very big writing hornets nest, I want to know what you think.

Do you agree, disagree, hate my guts for bring it up?

.

7 Responses to “A Rant About Those Who Give Their Writing Away”

  1. fminuzzi August 8, 2013 at 5:00 am #

    I’ve been doing something similar. I have a novella up for sale on amazon, but on my website you can read short stories and flash fiction. They’re good practice for me and hopefully a fun read, but the longer works I’ve spent much more time on are for sale.

    Like

    • rosedandrea August 8, 2013 at 8:18 am #

      Sounds like a good plan to me.
      I like the landing page for your site. Come to think of it, I think I’m going to make a pot of tea, too. 😉

      Like

  2. ReGi McClain August 8, 2013 at 11:17 am #

    I refer you to Lindsay Buroker, who makes enough money to call self-publishing her career. She gives the first book in a series away. It’s brilliant, really. It’s like a drug-dealer giving you the first hit for free so that you’re hooked. Then you keep crawling back begging for more, waving your money in her face and pleading with her to take it, if only she’ll give you Just. One. More. Novel. Her blog is all about making money as a self-publisher. I highly recommend it. 🙂 http://www.lindsayburoker.com/

    Like

    • rosedandrea August 8, 2013 at 11:53 am #

      That’s a cool idea!
      I have no problem with people who want to give away their work, some of their work, or (I think brilliantly) seduce you into their written world by letting you read the first book for free.
      It’s when they tout this idea of all writing/novels/stories for free (money somehow tarnishing the sanctity of the art) as the only way to go, that gets really annoying.

      I will have to check out this Lindsay Buroker. She sounds like a smart lady. 🙂

      Like

      • ReGi McClain August 8, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

        I’ve not come across too many of those. I know of one who offers his books for free because he considers them… *struggles for appropriate phrase* important lessons for humanity.

        Like

        • rosedandrea August 8, 2013 at 11:48 pm #

          I like that ” *struggles for appropriate phrase* “. Been doing that all day long. lol

          Like

          • ReGi McClain August 9, 2013 at 2:26 am #

            Sometimes, it’s better to express a struggle than a thought. 😉

            Like

Leave a Reply

