Video

How To Fill A Blank Brain

20 Aug

My mind is empty.

Really, it’s blank.

I must do something

to refill the tank.

Just writing and writing

can empty a soul.

I will find inspiration,

fill up my bowl.

*            *            *

What do you do when your mind is spent?

Your creativity has been sapped;

the feelings of wonder for your art are drained?

.

I have been a bad girl.

I have only seen 2 movies in the last 30 days, and can’t remember if I’ve actually finished reading a book in that time period.

There are at least half a dozen unread books on my Kindle PC, but to be truthful, none of them are really grabbing me and demanding I read them.

Don’t get me wrong. Plenty of reading material has passed before these eyes in the last several weeks. Articles about social media, blogging, marketing, writing…proofreading my own blog posts. Even entertaining posts by blogger friends! (My poor head is spinning with facts, ideas, should-dos, and how-tos for getting a book launch together.)

Just no books, no T.V., and only 2 movies. (Pony rider, and RED 2. Both fun movies, just not enough.)

I couldn’t tell you why. It just hasn’t happened.

Perhaps I should take a couple days away from the computer (away from research, social media and the blog) and see about refilling the batteries.

Like a mini vacation for the little writer inside me.

Maybe I’ll watch some anime with my husband, reread a Georgette Heyer, work on my photography, and get some sunshine. With this wrist still not wanting to do anything strenuous I can’t swing on the swings at the park, but that doesn’t mean I can’t take a book and sit under a tree and read while listening to little kids have fun on the merry-go-round.

Don’t worry, I wouldn’t leave you high and dry. I would take some time to put together something entertaining to hold you over for those couple days. I’m not sure what exactly, but just that challenge would be an interesting distraction.

*            *            *

Tell me, what do you do when your cup of inspiration is empty?

What do you do to fill it back up?

*            *            *

Well, it has a bowl at least! So it kinda fits with the theme of this post.

Kinda…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IyWuevB6WPQ

They’re cute and entertaining anyway. (Still don’t want one, though. We already have plenty of pets!)

.

Leave a Reply

