I Have Scheduled My First Guest Blogger!

30 Aug

 

Wonderful, yummy, calming tea.

Wonderful, yummy, calming tea.

I am sitting here sipping hot tea, thinking about the day I had.

It wasn’t anything unusual. Actually, it was a rather typical day.

I woke up a little later than planned due to the fact that we both forgot to set an alarm. After getting up and putting on my robe I went and let our female Labrador out to do her morning business. While she was out, I too handled my morning business; then swapped dogs and poured myself some cereal.

The other dog got let in and I started eating my first breakfast.

I usually have two breakfasts. One to take care of the morning’s urgent low blood sugar, and the second to provide me with the staying power of lots of protein.

This morning however, I was about half way through my bowl when my phone’s calendar made it’s all too happy little sound. Upon checking what it was so perky about I about did a spit-take. I was supposed to be driving an Aunt and my last remaining Grandmother to a meeting…15 minutes from then.

I mentally took review of my situation.

  • Unbrushed hair
  • Morning breath
  • Half way through breakfast #1
  • No idea what I was going to wear

Let’s do this!

So I scarf down my cereal (at a speed which would have shocked all members of my family, as I am renowned for eating at a speed which would rival that of a sloth’s).

Then it’s run into my bedroom, flick on the light (apologizing to my still slumbering husband), and begin rifling through my shirt drawer looking for something which would be comfortable, but kind of nice looking.

I’m dressed, hair is done, teeth are brushed, and I arrive to pick them up just a few minutes late.

We make it there at an OK time, and have to wait anyway.

Of course.

The meeting went well. Everything was taken care of with good humor and the lady went out of her way to be helpful. It was actually pleasant.

Afterward we did lunch at a local A&W (amazingly none of us ordered root beer…is that legal?).

While dropping them off again, we discussed an upcoming family get-together and decide that we will all go together. It’s a several hour drive both ways, so essentially ROAD TRIP!

After getting home I tool around on social media for a while, do a little reading, then decided to ward off a threatening headache by lying down for half an hour. Well, I made it into my bed, and was technically lying down. But instead of going to sleep, started playing around on Twitter. One thing led to another and I invited Laura Oliva to write a guest post about staying creative in the writing process.

I’m not sure how I got there, but I’m glad I did.

She will be my first guest poster, and if all goes reasonably well, I will most likely start inviting more writers to borrow my blogging mic.

I actually have a few other people in mind, and may be hitting you up for posts on your advice to novice authors, tips for people new to social media, or something just plain humorous.

I’m not sure if it will become something that’s on a schedule, or if they just get popped in whenever I feel like it.

Realistically it will most likely be the latter, since calendars and I seem to have a love-hate relationship (as evidenced by this morning).

Anyway, if I don’t give you a holler in the next few weeks, and you think you would like to write something for my hand full of loyal readers, please feel free to get hold of me. I would be open to posting anything interesting, helpful, or funny.

[Just remember that if it’s even a little off color my readers will be warned, so they can make sure their impressionable little ones are down for a nap before reading what you have to say. I’m not really a prude, but my readers are who they are, and I choose to respect that fact.]

.

Here’s hoping this new adventure isn’t as catastrophic as if the Hindeburg crash-landed on the Titanic right next to Krakatoa.

.

Leave a Reply

