Video

MMM…Songs from Once Upon a Mattress

1 Sep

It’s that day of the week again!

No, don’t crawl back in bed.

At least not before you’ve gotten some laugh exercise.

.

Once Upon a Mattress is one of my all-time favorite plays. It’s a quirky, laugh-out-loud retelling of The Princess and the Pea.Ā  I’ve never seen any other version of it than this one, though.

One day I hope to go see it live. But for now I will have to be content to watch it performed by Tracy Ullman, Carol Burnett and a host of other stellar comedians. Poor me.Ā  šŸ˜‰

.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8tQqsnbHr7s

.

Bonus!

This song might make more sense if you know that the Princesses name is Winfred. Fred for short.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vM36nuFfztU&feature=endscreen

.

I was going to use something by another singer, but this play has been going around and around in my head all week, so I figured I should share. šŸ˜€

At least I know what I’m going to use for next week’s Mirth and Music Monday. So yay!Ā  šŸ˜€

.

If you want more MMM, go have a peek at ReGi McClain’s blog. (She found some Bill Cosby…and a version of a Swan Lake ballet I know you’ve never seen before.) Hers is the mind that thought up this crazy fun meme. On the right hand side of her blog are two blue, googly-eyed smiley faces. Clicking the top one will take you to the links of all the other people playing along with us.

Enjoy, and Happy Monday!!!

.

11 Responses to “MMM…Songs from Once Upon a Mattress”

  1. ReGi McClain September 2, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

    I love Once Upon A Mattress. I remembered seeing it as a little girl, but recently dug the whole thing up on YouTube so my husband could watch it with me. šŸ™‚ Some friends of mine performed it in High School, but I didn’t make any of the performances. šŸ˜¦ It was fun to see them walking around practicing, though. They were the hard core drama folks who didn’t mind rehearsing as they walked from class to class. The one singing the Song of Love got a few interesting looks from folks not in the know. šŸ™‚

    Like

    • rosedandrea September 2, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

      “I’m in love with a girl named Fred” would get some funny looks from random passers-by. lol

      But I guess just about anything taken out of context can become a laugh fest. šŸ˜€

      Like

  2. Lucinda Sutherland September 2, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

    Still love it. Thanks for the links to excerpts. My favorite Tommy Smithers role.

    Like

    • Lucinda Sutherland September 2, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

      Oops, make that Tommy Smothers.

      Like

      • rosedandrea September 2, 2013 at 3:49 pm #

        Yeah, those keys are right beside each other.
        Backspace is my best friend while typing. lol

        Like

    • rosedandrea September 2, 2013 at 3:50 pm #

      I looked up some of his earlier stuff and it wasn’t nearly as funny as his miming through this play. šŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Ink and Papyrus September 2, 2013 at 5:51 pm #

    I was in the band for my college’s production of this two weeks ago. It is such an amazing musical. šŸ™‚

    Like

    • rosedandrea September 2, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

      Isn’t it? So much fun.
      Had you seen it before?
      And, if I may ask, what instrument do you play?

      Like

      • Ink and Papyrus September 2, 2013 at 8:18 pm #

        I play flute and before we started rehearsing, I’d never even heard of it. šŸ™‚

        Like

  4. Emily Witt September 3, 2013 at 3:14 am #

    I have never seen this in its entirety but watching these has left me wishing it got more votes than Guys and Dolls when my old uni residential hall was deciding what musical to do last year. Not that I didn’t enjoy being in Guys and Dolls, but this would have been the most fun, adorable thing ever!

    Like

    • rosedandrea September 3, 2013 at 1:41 pm #

      Guys and Dolls is a great story, but it’s not nearly as laugh out loud funny as this play.
      I’m not sure, but from the looks of it the whole thing may have been put up on YouTube in several sections.
      It’s definitely worth the hunt though. šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

