Video

A Writer’s What-Ifs: The Positive Side

12 Sep

Today I am following up on an idea I had about yesterday’s post.

Here’s the bit that got me thinking.

Then there are the what-ifs.

What if it doesn’t sell well?

What if it isn’t good enough?

What if I’m not good enough?

What if all that time and effort was for nothing?

.

This list of what-ifs left me feeling…unhappy.

So I have come up with a list of positive what-ifs.

.

My list of positive what-ifs for writers:

What if some of this fear goes away after my first book is published?

What if that first book is a hit?

What if the next book is the start of a great series?

What if I can quit my job by the end of next year?

What if I become an Amazon best seller?

What if I make it onto the New York Times Best Seller List?

What if someone wants to turn one of my books into a movie?

What if I’m the next J. K. Rowling?!

.

Hmmm, if I’m not careful I’m going to set off another attack of the day dreams and not get anything done today.

A little dreaming is fun. A lot of dreaming can get in the way of being productive.

So have fun with your happy what-if list, but don’t forget to get your tush in that chair and add more words to the book.

.

Now, to practice what I preach.

.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gifkCgoJ7SY

.

Leave a Reply

