Seven No Nonsense Book Launch Tips for Broke Authors

22 Sep

I can use all the tips for broke authors I can get, seeing as how I am putting together a book launch with a budget of zero dollars.

.
Have you considered or used some of these strategies?

.
Do you have other advice for a broke author planning her first launch?

WordServe Water Cooler

Seven no nonsense book launch tips

 

Sun Shine DownI am launching a book.

My memoir, Sun Shine Down, published at the end of August with T. S. Poetry Press. Eeek!

As a broke, green as the grass in mid-July first time author, I tackled the daunting assignment of launching a book like any other able-minded individual in North America.

I googled ‘book launch.’

In .02 seconds, reputable results-driven marketing and publicity firms jumped into my line of vision. These people surely could launch my book into the stratosphere!

But after some number crunching and a realistic talk with my husband about where hiring a publicist falls in the needs of a family of six (braces, soccer, therapy, FOOD), I conceded. We could not hire help for Sun Shine Down.

These days, whether we sign with a big publisher, a small press, or self-publish, we bear much of the responsibility for launching our own books…

View original post 682 more words

4 Responses to “Seven No Nonsense Book Launch Tips for Broke Authors”

  1. ReGi McClain September 23, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

    Not there yet, but a friend did a combined signing/b-day party and got a local ice cream place to let her do a signing and give out $1 off coupons to anyone who bought her book. 🙂

    Like

    • rosedandrea September 23, 2013 at 8:56 pm #

      Sweet! (lol, literally) That confirms a thought I’ve had for a little while now. We’re on good terms with the owners of a local coffee shop, sooo that would be a good place for a fall book launch party, and a signing party at a later date. 🙂

      Like

      • ReGi McClain September 23, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

        Mmm… coffee and books. 😀 Will you be putting out an ebook as well? Are we talking the bathroom poetry or I Killed Them Mama at this point?

        Like

        • rosedandrea September 24, 2013 at 12:05 am #

          At this point we’re talking about the bathroom poetry. I Killed Them Mama stalled when my brain reworked the series of events. It will be better, I’m just trying to wrap my head around how to rewrite the plot points and dozens of pages.

          The ebook will be first, then when I can bribe someone to make a real cover design for me I will come out with a physical book. Most likely expand the collection before that so it’s thick enough to validate a ‘real’ book.

          Like

Leave a Reply

