Two Nights Of Dancing? Yes, Please!

28 Sep

Tonight was a lot of fun. I went to the Senior Center dance and danced my feet off.

Poor Lonnie was stuck at home dealing with some plumbing issues. They’re not totally resolved yet, but that’s because there aren’t any 24 hour plumbing outfits around here. Suffice it to say, we have running water again, but a few things didn’t handle the no-water-then-actual-water-pressure situation very well. We’re not reaching for water wings and swim fins, but there was a leak.

(I’m just glad I married someone who can deal with this sort of stuff, because I have no clue.)

So, the dance drew a lot of new people from around the area. Unfortunately there were more women than men.  That meant that every man there was kept dancing just about the entire time. The husbands were doing a wonderful job of making sure that no single lady sat for too long, and the wives did a lovely job of making sure the other ladies knew they were comfortable with it.

We had 3 fiddle players taking turns and duets through the evening, and even a harmonica player for one song. The regular band was in fine form, and absorbed the guest musicians with wonderful grace and harmony.

The only complaint I had about the evening was that I really should start bringing some food with protein in it for the intermission meal. I am thinking that everyone got together and made Friday night their cheat day, because we have cookies, cakes and gelatin desserts coming out our ears. Everyone else really enjoys the yummy sugar, but I really need to watch it with that kind of stuff, especially when I’m doing a physical activity. Believe it or not, waltzing and the Texas two-step are a lot of exercise. Especially when you’re only getting to sit down for one dance in four.

I need the exercise, so I’m not going to complain.  🙂

.

Tomorrow night (by the time you’re reading this it will be tonight) I am joining in the festivities of a bachelorette party.

We’re going to meet up at a friend’s house, play a couple games, goof around, then head off to dinner. After dinner we’re going to go back to her house, change into our late night clothes, and go clubbing. What I really like about the club they’ve chosen is that they have great staff. Their security is on top of everything, they card pretty much everyone (does wonders for the ego 😉 ), and the bathrooms are uber clean.

We’re not going out really to drink, though. Mostly for dancing. I’m not going to be drinking at all. The last thing I need is to have a blood-sugar crisis when we’re all supposed to be having blast.

It should be a lot of fun.  😀

.

Yeah, so on another note. I wrote a sad, sappy, happy ending lyrics for a song this afternoon. I’m thinking it would work better on the Country market, but could work in the rock or techno ballad sound. One of my sisters is good at coming up with tunes. Perhaps she can give it a melody.

Writing a song was definitely not on the agenda when I sat down at my computer, but that’s what came out.

I tried to write something else afterward, but was too drained to do anything beyond simply stare blankly at an equally blank new document.

Tomorrow is already a wash for getting any writing done. I have a couple errands I’ll have to run before getting my stuff together for that night, then getting picked up mid-afternoon.

.

Dude! What am I going to wear???

.

Don’t forget, next Friday I’ll be hosting a guest blog from the lovely ReGi McClain.

(Which is just fine. It turns out I’ll be gone that weekend, so she can have the run of the place. lol  😀 )

Happy Saturday!

.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fujYoh0SXBs

.

Leave a Reply

