Video

Should I Worry About Being On Pinterest And Google Plus?

10 Oct

Really, I actually am asking this question.

I’ve been looking into how to set up and efficiently run an engaging Google+ account. It looks cool, but also rather time absorbing. Twitter, Facebook and a blog already suck up enough of my writing time.

Then there’s Pinterest. According to the research I have been doing about my target audience, I should really get onto Pinterest. That’s where ‘they’ say a whole bunch of mid-20’s to mid-30’s women hang out. It has also been said that this form of social media is highly addicting… again, Twitter, Facebook and a blog already cut into my writing time.

But, if I added another social media forum to my routine, then it just might force me to actually establish a routine. That wouldn’t be a bad thing.

Hmmm…

*            *            *

What do you think?

Have you successfully added either, or both, of these to your social media life and survived?

*            *            *

I feel so lost!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YrgGRIvsvR4

.

10 Responses to “Should I Worry About Being On Pinterest And Google Plus?”

  1. Random (aka WhiteRavenSoars) October 10, 2013 at 2:23 am #

    I use all of those sites honestly. Including several more. Pintrest though I would have to say is one of my top favorites. I use it as a visual bookmark tool for my favorite webpages, along with a great recourse for my novels. I make inspiration boards for each novel I am working on, and find it more than helpful! Google+, well I don’t know, I don’t really spend much time doing anything with it, but I link all my pages, and several of them you can set to update everything, from twitter to facebook, just for a start… I am sure there are so many more. Not to mention my blog automatically goes to my twitter and facebook pages…

    Like

    • rosedandrea October 10, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

      “A visual bookmark tool for my favorite webpages…”
      That could come in really handy! If it’s not on wordpress I have a hard time remembering to go check it out again.

      This Pintrerest thing is starting to sound better and better. 🙂

      I have my blog posts going automatically to Twitter and Facebook. If I get Google+ I would want to find out how to have them go there as well. Something I’ll have to read up on. Thanks for the reminder. 😀

      Like

      • Random (aka WhiteRavenSoars) October 10, 2013 at 8:50 pm #

        when I was creating the auto upload for twitter and facebook, I created a hmmm is it tumbler? or some such… that your blog can automatically post to… at any rate I set up everything wordpress can auto upload on, just because I figured it can’t hurt *grins*
        And yes, pintrest is EPIC!!!! Just the ability to have the visual bookmarks for me made it so worth it, and when I started making the visual inspirational story boards, it also made a difference. I also make playlists now for each of my stories, because while I don’t listen to music while writing, it can be very helpful to get in the mindset of the story.

        Like

        • rosedandrea October 10, 2013 at 9:07 pm #

          Oh, yeah! Making those automatic is that easy. *Yay*

          Hmmm… when’s my next quiet, stay at home day? Sunday? Maybe. Think I’ll sign up for Pinterest Sunday. …OK, it’s in my phone calendar, now. It just got serious. lol

          Like

          • Random (aka WhiteRavenSoars) October 10, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

            *grins* have fun!!! I have to be careful when I plan a trip into pintrest sometimes I loose track of the time, hehehe

            Like

            • rosedandrea October 10, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

              Yeah, I had that happen yesterday on a fun blog. Suddenly realized I’d been scrolling through, laughing my backside off, for over an hour. Oops. ;D

              Like

  2. Laura Oliva October 10, 2013 at 10:08 am #

    Yeah, Pinterest is a HUGE time suck. But the ability to curate character and storyboards has also totally changed the way I write, so, there’s that.

    I have a small presence on most of the social media sites, but my main presences (aka the ones I update daily as opposed to weekly) are on Twitter and Pinterest. They seem to fit me, my personality, and my writing style best.

    It’s a tough call, with so many of them out there. Kudos to you for asking the hard questions! My advice is to give it a shot, and see if it does anything beneficial for you (in addition to just being a time suck!)

    Like

    • rosedandrea October 10, 2013 at 8:37 pm #

      From what I have been hearing it will take a lot of self-control to Not be on Pinterest for hours at a time. lol

      So the consensus seems to be to go ahead and them, and not worry if some of them are only played with once or twice a week. Got it. Thanks! 😀

      Like

  3. Cissy October 13, 2013 at 3:41 am #

    I use Twitter @Cissybelle and don’t get sucked into Facebook, Pinterest, Tumblr, Flikr, or any other media site. I only get 100-400 hits per day on my blog though. It’s a personal decision. Are you going to run your life or is your blog going to run it for you? Mine is growing quickly, without all the distractions. I say focus on frequent quality posts and engage in a Twitter. It needs to suit your personality and lifestyle , though. Good luck.

    Like

  4. Cissy October 13, 2013 at 3:43 am #

    PS, if you do use Pinterest be careful. A lot of people are being sued right now for posting photos they don’t have rights too. Only post your own, ones that are in commons, or you have purchased rights, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

