Video

Be Careful Who’s Thoughts You Ask About

25 Oct

How about a dialogue only little story?

Let’s see…

.

“What are you mumbling about now?”

“Nothing. Just thinking out loud.”

“That’s what I just asked. What are you thinking about?”

“Oh, just some things.”

“Like…”

“Like how come when it’s Halloween it’s all “Oh, look at all the cute kids in their little costumes.”, but then the rest of the year we’re just pests in their way?”

“We’re not exactly little anymore, ya’know.”

“You know what I mean. It’s just… what’s with the duplicity?”

“Ummm, I don’t know.”

“It’s the same kind of thing with Thanksgiving. All year long our culture is full of gimme-gimme, then we take a day or two to suddenly remember all the good things we have. Celebrating all the things we normally take for granted. We get together with all kinds of people we normally dodge, eat four thousand calories each, and then pass out on the couch. It’s almost exactly like Christmas.”

“What about Christmas?”

“That’s another time when we’re all supposed to be happy and stuff. Everyone is in a good mood because it’s the season of giving, but what about the week after that? It’s like the instant Christmas is over everyone is already worried about their New Years resolution and who they’re going to be kissing at midnight. All that fluffy, happy, glowy feeling is just poof gone.”

“Uhhhhh-huh. And your point is?”

“I don’t have a point. You asked me what I was thinking about, so I told you.”

“You sure did.”

.

Now, hand me my share of the candy, some pumpkin pie

and assure me you’re getting me something awesome for Christmas!

.

(No, I didn’t set out to preach. All I did was sit down to a blank screen and let my mind barf words all over it. There’s no intention of toe-stepping, or guilt trips.)

.

Here’s a little Halloween fun from The Muppets:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oc1iIRKZE9w

.

I think as long as the Carve-O-Matic was used correctly it could really come in handy this time of year. Too bad Beaker got it.

Again.

Poor little guy.

.

I wonder if he’s just like Kenny and they have a huge lab of clones just for such a purpose?

Huh.

.

3 Responses to “Be Careful Who’s Thoughts You Ask About”

  1. ReGi McClain October 28, 2013 at 4:07 pm #

    You did NOT just compare Muppets to South Park! 😛

    I like your story. 🙂 (By the way, most people eat about 7,000 calories on thanksgiving.) In our family, we celebrate Epiphany, so the Christmas stuff stays up the full 12 days and the magi don’t make it to Jesus until January 6th. 😀

    Like

    • rosedandrea October 28, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

      Yup, I went there. 😉

      Thanks! It was very spur of the moment. I was actually a little afraid it might tick people off. Not sure why, but, yeah.

      Huh, I didn’t know there was a reason to leave your Christmas stuff up for a week after New Years. I may have to look into this Epiphany thing. 😀 (That’s actually been one of my things. All these people did not descend on Mary and Joseph the Moment Jesus popped out.) *shrugs*

      Like

      • ReGi McClain October 28, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

        You’ve not heard the song the 12 days of Christmas? 😛

        They were actually serious about celebrating Christmas back in the day. These days, Epiphany is mostly a Catholic thing, but back in Elizabethan times, the Protestants celebrated it, too. (Hence the Shakespearean play, The Twelfth Night or As You Like It).

        We use the Mexican tradition of moving the magi a little closer each day for the twelve days. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

