The Hidden Benefits of Reading

14 Nov

I love to read. Really should be doing more of it, actually.
So here’s a reblog that reiterated that for me, and perhaps inspire you to keep reading (and trying to Be read).

WordServe Water Cooler

I have a confession to make. Sometimes I read in order to avoid writing. There. I said it. I read at stoplights often enough that my children have to point and say, “Green. Green! GREEN!” in increasingly frantic tones, just before the rude non-reader honks come from the cars behind us.

I read while I wait for my children and while I brush my teeth. Just last week, I read on my daily walk. While passing my oldest daughter’s home, I understand that she pointed out the window in disbelief. “Nick!” she called to her husband, “Is that lady really reading while she’s walking?! Oh. It’s my mom. Why am I even surprised?” Once, I even read 43 pages while in the dentist’s chair.

As it turns out, my reading habit might be one of the best things I can do for my writing.

Read to Inspire

We all know…

View original post 492 more words

2 Responses to “The Hidden Benefits of Reading”

  1. Cindy Sigler Dagnan November 15, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

    Thank you for this lovely tribute! Happy writing, Rose!

    Like

    • rosedandrea November 15, 2013 at 9:42 pm #

      You’re welcome, Cindy. 🙂 And thank you, too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

