Time To Lay Off The Pizza

30 Nov

Ladies and gentlemen, it is now after Thanksgiving.

My diet starts now.

*sigh*

Goodbye, pie.

See ya later, cake.

Adios, sugary cereal.

Hello lots of protein, plenty of veggies, and pickles.

It’s a good thing I really like green beans and broccoli. Otherwise this could really get depressing. The hard parts will be getting enough protein in each day, and keeping track of my calories to make sure I stay above 1,600.

Yes, my main problem is not eating too much, it is eating too little, and even then usually taking the easy way out. Why make eggs when the cereal is faster? Why bake a potato when the noodles will take just a few minutes?

I don’t know why I let myself lose track of my diet. I feel so much better when I am eating as I should. The energy I have while eating right is incredible. Right now, I feel so sluggish I just want to sleep all day long.

Not good when you are trying to get a business off the ground, finish a book, publish poetry, and make enough money to start the family you have wanted since you could talk in full sentences.

So, the diet begins now. The work outs will begin in earnest after the diet has had a little time to take effect. Trying to work out now only has the effect of draining what little energy I have because I’m not giving my body the fuel it needs.

Gone is the too lazy to cook pizza night.

Banished are cookies, cake and candy (except for the one dark chocolate piece a day).

Out with the midnight ice cream parties.

A chocolate chip oatmeal square from last summer.

A chocolate chip oatmeal square from last summer.

.

I will miss you… for a couple weeks.

After that, I am hoping that those around me will be supportive enough to not try and convince me that ‘one won’t hurt you’. Or saying silly things like ‘You’ve had a rough week, you’ve earned it.’

What I have earned is the desire to stay with it this time. I miss feeling strong and resilient. I miss popping out of bed in the morning ready to face the day. It was much better then. I want it back.

And I will have it back,

even if I have to club every nay-sayer with my vegetable wok.

.

After the first couple weeks of being really strict with myself I will allow one (1) cheat meal a week.

You still need to have a little fun in life.

The main thing I will try to accomplish with this is fueling my body properly so that my blood sugar levels are more even through the day. When that happens I will have the energy to work out on a regular basis, then look out body fat! Here come the measuring tape, two pound weights, and walking shoes!

Bwahahahaha!

.

It would be really nice to be able to wear my wedding rings again.

It will be really nice to be able to wear my wedding rings again.

.

One Response to “Time To Lay Off The Pizza”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Just Desserts | Mitten'sKittens - December 1, 2013

    […] Rose’s Road for knowing how to keep a writer happy […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

