Video

Plastic Christmas – A Poem

21 Dec

.

I’m not here.

You can’t see me.

I’m invisible.

Please don’t bug me.

.

They’re everywhere,

And in every shape and size,

All those people

You normally despise.

.

They’re on the sofa,

And in the kitchen,

Lots of talking;

Screaming children

.

Why did I accept

This party invite?

I’d rather suffer

A werewolf bite.

.

Christmas music

Playing loud,

Someone’s yelling

Above the crowd.

.

A toast, they say,

In a jovial way,

To us, they cry,

May we stay this way.

.

I gulp my drink

And set it down.

Must get away,

before I drown.

.

The sappy hugs,

The forced cheer,

It makes me sick.

What do they fear?

.

I’m hidden now.

In a bedroom.

A few deep breaths,

As panic looms.

.

Time to go home.

I can’t stay here.

These people don’t have

Real Christmas cheer.

.

Plastic faces

And plastic times.

They say happy things

Like quoting lines.

.

The Christmas spirit

Is in very few.

The Christmas spirit…

Is it in you?

.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zWdJ1EXf5zo

.

One Response to “Plastic Christmas – A Poem”

  1. ReGi McClain December 26, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

    Aww… 😦 Too bad it’s like that for so many people. I guess, in a way, it’s better than being alone because there’s no one who wants you around even just for show, though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

