Video

Alone and not Guilty

15 Feb

I know, I know. This is supposed to be a poem.

And yesterday I was supposed to put out a flash fiction.

And I didn’t do either.

I would say I’m sorry, but it would be a lie.

This week has been screwy.

So instead I am going to show you something that caught my attention, made me think, rippled through my inner dialogue, and inspired a very interesting conversation with my husband.

It’s a TED talk about the importance of introverts.

Yes, it is 19 minutes long. I realize that most people who cruise the blogosphere don’t want to take that kind of time, but I’m going to put this up here anyway.

.

.

Now let’s talk about that inner dialogue ripple. For a long time now I have felt as though getting out and seeing people was a mandatory part of… something. I would feel guilty after a few days of being holed up working on a project, because I was perhaps making someone out there unhappy because I wasn’t on their doorstep.

This talk reminded me that I need my solitude. I need my quiet.

It also reminded me that where my computer is in the house really is not conducive for my creative flow. So… not only is being alone good for me and my writing, but also, I really need to find another place for my computer. It’s literally in the middle of the house. Not good for hunkering down and cranking out a chapter a day. For one thing, the dogs can find me way too easily (they seriously want to go outside 12 times a day, for about 5 minutes. It’s a game, I think.). For another, any and all conversation, movement, coming and going around the house is done within 10 feet of my chair.  Heh.  Let’s just say I’ve been very distracted these past several months.

What I learned:

1. Choosing to be alone is not actually a bad thing.

2. I really need to move my computer. (Not sure where to, buuut somewhere.)

.

*            *            *

Here’s a little something for those of you who don’t have much time:

.

*            *            *

Are you an introvert?

Do you feel pressured into acting like an extrovert at times?

Do you, like me, have certain masks you put on in order to deal with the bossy, pushy world out there?

Could you at least tell me I’m not alone in this? Please?

😉

.

.

.

Leave a Reply

