“More girls should go on adventures”

3 Apr

You guys should read this!  🙂 

  As a young girl I never really wanted to be the ‘main’ hero, but I always wanted to go along on the adventures. I still do. Perhaps that’s why I have so many dreams of conquering the writing world, creating a few businesses, building my own kind of empire (of friends and allies), and traveling through Europe and certain parts of South America. All with my strong, brave and true husband by my side. It wouldn’t be the same without my carefully chosen knight in shining armor.  🙂

Inkspelled Faery

A while back a seven year old young lady by the name of Charlotte sent this letter to the LEGO corporation.

http://media.boingboing.net/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/BfGAK-wCYAAWr1B1.jpg

It reminded me of a blog post I read by Maggie Stiefvater about how, growing up, she didn’t have crushes on the male action-adventure leads, she wanted to be them. When I read that, I had a “You, too? I thought I was the only one!” moment.

Now, I have never wanted to be a boy. As a little girl, I was required to always wear dresses (not as unfair as it sounds, a long story), even with my jeans. I played with Barbies (G.I. Joe dolls, too), had tea parties, loved fairies (still do), and was a fan of every Disney princess. But none of that stopped me from rolling in the mud, climbing into trees, crawling under barbwire fences, building forts out of juniper trees, wrestling goats…

View original post 234 more words

3 Responses to ““More girls should go on adventures””

  1. lucindasutherland April 3, 2014 at 10:34 am #

    I watched three girls have adventures yesterday. They were upstairs at my house doing the unbelievable. They were going through their old stuff and deciding what to toss and what to TAKE HOME with them. Well, one wasn’t, she was playing in old jewelry and trying on her mother’s old clothes and causing shocked expressions and comments like “No, I am never going to let you dress like that.” It was a fun day for me, too.

    Like

    • rosedandrea April 4, 2014 at 1:35 am #

      Sounds like it! Adventures are important, whether they’re just exploring your back yard, or another continent.

      (Would OnionSkins be the only acceptable place for dresses like that? 😉 )

      Like

Leave a Reply

