A Note to Young Writers: Honor Your Obscurity

4 Apr

Boy howdy did I really need to read this. I have been so occupied with why my numbers aren’t where I want them to be that I have become numb when it comes to my other projects. This is what I needed. A reminder that I need this time of quiet, of obscurity, to take my first few stumbling steps without a large audience to magnify my mistakes.
Now, if you will excuse me, I have to find some place where I can set down this big load of worries. Uh, anyone know where the nearest volcano is? 😉

WordServe Water Cooler

woman praying--parodic

In the last month, I spent time with two younger women, both of whom had just released their first book. Sarah and Andrea are both fine writers whom I expect will continue to write and publish books. In the short time I had with each of them, I found myself dumping all my writing and marketing advice, talking about websites, blogging, Facebook, twitter. But I forgot to say the most important thing of all: honor your obscurity.

Very few young writers, musicians, artists value their obscurity. For good reason. We know if we’re to be published in any form, we need an audience, a sizeable audience. We know that most of the time we have to find that audience before that first book contract even lands on our desk. And once it does, and the book is out, we’re tasked to keep racking up bigger numbers. But how do we…

View original post 590 more words

2 Responses to “A Note to Young Writers: Honor Your Obscurity”

  1. lucindasutherland April 4, 2014 at 7:28 pm #

    You’re practically surrounded by dead volcanoes. I am not certain which active one is the closest but the Yellowstone Caldera is getting a lot of attention this week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

