P is for Pleasure

19 Apr

So, I’m not alone with the affliction of having an overzealous inner editor pointing out all the tiny (and not so tiny) flaws in the books I read. My case is not quite as bad as Kate’s, but it’s kinda close.
Enjoy!

disregard the prologue

…and reading for it.

It used to be that I could get completely lost in a book with no problems. Heaven help my family if it was a series– they might not have clean laundry for a while. There was very little that bothered me about anyone’s writing, at least not enough to distract me from the story.

That’s changed, and I’m sad about it.

These days, I feel like reading is a chore a lot of the time. There are too many books I need to read: things I’ve told friends I’ll read and critique for them, great books in the genres I write in that I’ve never got to, books in other genres that I think will broaden my horizons. And there are the ones I don’t need to read, but want to: the ones I’ve grabbed for free or cheap on the Kindle, ones I picked up…

View original post 514 more words

Leave a Reply

