Can I Be An Addams?

23 Apr

I’m sitting beneath a thunderstorm, listening to the crash and rumble and drinking tea.

What a lovely day.

No, I’m not being sarcastic. I love a good thunderstorm.

It’s an even more interesting experience these days. Since we live up on a hill it’s not uncommon for the road out front of our house to be struck. I don’t know why all the trees around here aren’t interesting to the lightning. Perhaps the pipes beneath the asphalt call to it. Perhaps the stone used in the mixture is a little magnetic.

It’s a mystery.

Occasionally I think I would fit right in with the Addams family. Aside from the liking pain and eating the strangest parts of animals, of course. (I tried chicken hearts a while back. Eeew.)

I love to dance, and really, really want to learn the tango.

I keep begging my husband to start teaching me swordplay.

I don’t look too bad in black.

I talk to my plants.

By the end of a long winter my skin is so pale I almost glow in the dark.

It would be amazing if snapdragons actually belched little flames, and if a giant Venus flytrap would eat the neighbor chickens that keep trying to roost on our front porch. (It’s annoying having to tiptoe around their leavings).

If it would help get me a little closer I offer up the fact that I married a man who’s 1/2 Italian. And has a habit of swearing in Italian, and Vietnamese, I think. *shrugs*

Then there’s my long dark hair, desire to employ a butler at some point in my life, and my need to suppress these urges that tell me to vindictively give some of our neighbors a taste of their own medicine. (You know how they say ‘good fences make for good neighbors”? We’re saving up for a good fence. We’re also pricing out cyclone wire for the top.)

But, until I get my notice that I’m an honorary cousin, I will have to be content to sip tea during thunderstorms. And perhaps learn a little French. 😉

.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yyyiQujh1yk

For the rest of the first episode:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-IjEosj7hco

and

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WFV8U3JYEJE

.

.

.

 

2 Responses to “Can I Be An Addams?”

  1. Harliqueen April 23, 2014 at 6:20 am #

    Great post, made me chuckle 🙂

    Like

    • rosedandrea April 23, 2014 at 6:27 pm #

      Thanks, Mishka! I’m glad you liked it. 😀

      I have to admit, I finally got around to clicking your name to see your blog. I like it! So you can expect me back. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

