I’m Fighting the Blues

9 May

Yes, I will admit it. I am in a funk right now.

Not quite sure why, but I am.

Actually, yes I do know why.

I am not the most patient person on the planet and watching the calendar pages fly past as my husband and I work on various goals and projects has begun to wear on me. For the longest time I was the perkiest person on the planet about our empire building plans. But it has now been a few weeks since we’ve been able to gain any traction on anything substantial and it’s bumming me out.

This has happened to me before. Many times, in fact. I’ll spend a week or so moping around listening to music, crying instead of napping, and loitering in my sprouting garden. Then one day I’ll suddenly have my groove back, the mojo will spring into action and I’ll put my nose to the grindstone again. Until then I will baby myself so that my natural optimism has a chance to bloom again.

However, something different is happening this time. I have been asked to stay with a friend over the weekend while her housemate is gone.

When I accepted I wasn’t all that excited about a weekend away from my computer, my writing and my husband. Now that I’ve had a little time to think about it I have realized that this could be good for me. A weekend of something different. Not drastically so, but still no dogs, someone new to talk with for a few days and nothing productive to do. Unless you count watching old movies, fudging a bit on my diet, and reading as many of their Mrs. Pollifax books as I can manage.  😉

(I will still very much miss my husband. I don’t sleep very well without him beside me. :/ )

So, now I’m looking at this weekend more like R&R rather than a chore. That’s good, because I’ll have a lot more fun with this mindset rather than resenting the situation. And seriously, what’s to resent? It’s distracting me from what I’m not mentally and emotionally capable of tackling in my present condition.

Well, enough of that. It’s time for me to put together and schedule my next Mirth and Music Monday post. The least I can do for my post-weekend self is take away the stress of trying to get that together in one night.  🙂

*           *            *

And now it’s time for something completely unrelated!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W_4LtBDCUEg&noredirect=1

Nothing like a little Star Trek related tomfoolery to lighten the mood. 🙂

.

I hope you all have a great weekend,

                                                and I’ll see you again on Monday.

.

.

.

Leave a Reply

