#YourTurnChallenge – #Day1 – Finding Adventure

19 Jan

by Rose D’Andrea

A few days ago I came across a blogging challenge.

(Don’t ask me how, because I honestly can not remember.)

This challenge lasts 7 days and merely asks that you post every day about something from your perspective.

They also supply writing prompts. I’m not sure if I’ll stick to the prompts or strike out on my own. I guess that’ll just be part of the adventure.

Lately I have been viewing a lot of things as a possible adventure. I don’t suppose most pregnant women look forward to childbirth as a chance to find out, deep down, what they’re made of. Probably even fewer choose to view the impending ‘hell week’ after bringing home baby as another intriguing experience. You never know what to expect. The kid could react to the fact that I’ve recently eaten chocolate and get the world’s worst gas. She could be a sleeper and have to be woken for feedings. She could come out like the kids on the British show My Hero already talking and uh, flying. (Although that last one is highly unlikely, regardless of how many times a week I refer to my husband as my hero. Besides, I’m pretty sure he’s human. Probably.)

This recent sense of adventure is perhaps what led me to join in this blogging challenge.

And that is perhaps a good enough segue into today’s writing prompt:

Why are you doing the Your Turn Challenge?

I have been thinking, for a long time now, that I need to get back to a more frequent blogging schedule. However, it has not been happening. Imagine that, blog posts don’t magically appear just because we think they should. Huh.

There has always been an excuse: my computer won’t cooperate, I wouldn’t know what to write, I’m sick, tired, too distracted, or don’t have the time.

Now for a while there I was too sick to do more than clutch my water bottle and pray that something would stay down. That was legitimate. But what about the several months now that have been relatively easy? What about the occasional thought that pops into my head that I think would make an awesome post?

That, my friends, was just plain laziness. Pure and simple. Yes, there’s a little shame in admitting it, but more in wallowing in indecisiveness and self pity.

So, what am I going to do to turn this around?

Apparently jump on the #YourTurnChallenge like it’s the last life boat off the Titanic. It’s like God said, “Yes, you’re not alone in this. Now, get off your rump and get back to actual work.” So here I am, blogging the first day of an enticing journey. Hopefully this week of work (and, fingers crossed, some feedback) will spur me toward keeping up a more regular presence on this blog baby of mine.

Hopefully my actual baby won’t mind when I blog over the top of her a few days a week.

And if she does mind, well, I guess that will just kick off another adventure.

.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-6gZe-fUCWg

.

.

.

2 Responses to “#YourTurnChallenge – #Day1 – Finding Adventure”

  1. lucindasutherland January 19, 2015 at 1:56 pm #

    I would say get started typing right after midnight so you can get that post in for the day. At least two of your sisters thought I would enjoy it best if they decided at 1a.m. that this was the night/morning to be born. I think you waited until 2a.m.

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosedandrea January 21, 2015 at 6:32 pm #

      I was half thinking she would decide to come last night, you know, with the roads shrouded in dense fog and slick with patches of black ice. That would have been a fun drive, right? lol
      Oh, well, more waiting. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

