#YourTurnChallenge – #Day3 – Sex Ed.

21 Jan

“Alright, settle down.

I know you’re all wondering who our guests are today. This is Mrs. April Anderson, Mrs. Beth Beckham, and Ms. Crissy Crest. They are here to talk to you about pregnancy. We’re going to let them each have a couple minutes, then we’ll open it up for Q and A. April?”

Clearing her throat, April begins, “I used to have adorable size 8 feet. Last week I bought these. Pretty, huh? Right now I’m a 9 wide. They say there’s a chance your feet will go back to their original size, but I’m not so sure. My mom’s didn’t. …”

Beth, “… I threw up a minimum of twice a day for 9 weeks straight. My record was 6 times. I was so exhausted I didn’t even have the strength to cry when a good friend passed away. …”

Crissy, “… You know how everyone has a personal space bubble? A certain portion of this planet seem to think you’re public property when you’re really pregnant. I can’t tell you how annoying it is to have a complete stranger reach out and touch your belly. Then there’s all the questions. Seriously, how many times a day do I have to say that I’m due next month? …”

.

How many teenagers (and adults for that matter) would think twice about getting it on without putting one on if they had to sit through an hour of listening to pregnant women tell the truth about the pregnancy glow?

Yeah, the glow. After a week or two of basking in the wonderfulness that is impending motherhood all the symptoms come crashing in and that adorable glow is now caused by hormone induced hot flashes, or turns ashen as you spend your days always knowing where the nearest trash can is. Just in case.

Not fun.

I’m not saying that all pregnancies are horrible, daily life altering slices of hell. But they aren’t all parades through rose gardens, either.

Kids need to know the truth before they figure out what tab A is and why it goes into slot B.

Take two days ago. I spent half the day crying. Don’t ask me why, I just did. And it wasn’t that poetic single tear down a cheek stuff. Oh, no. It was soul-wrenching sobs, puffy eyes, tears dripping off the chin, blow your nose before you get snot bubbles crying. Sexy, right? (ugh)

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think this kind of wide spread info would stop all unplanned pregnancies. That would be an impossible task. We’d just drive ourselves insane attempting it. However, I do think it would give people (girls, especially) a more realistic idea of what they would be risking (besides STD’s and a bit of a mess to clean up).

Yup, just let them know they could possibly get stretch marks on their perky C cups, mood swings that take one from elation to suicidal thoughts and back, or projectile vomiting just because they smelled onion and they might even give abstinence half a thought.

.

(Sorry, not little ears friendly, but so true!)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jf8B6UQSrW4

.

.

.

Leave a Reply

