Waving Bye-Bye to Dairy

27 Jun

Motherhood. I really am loving it.

Cuddling a sleeping baby, discovering what makes her giggle, cheering as she tries rolling over.

Then there’s a down-side, though.

Kathleen hasn’t been sleeping well lately, which means I haven’t either.

Why isn’t she sleeping well?

It might have something to do with her mild diarrhea and the occasional diaper rash.

(Ya, think?)

Surprisingly, she wakes up to poop. Always has. And she can’t stand wet diapers.

But the diarrhea, according to my research, is most likely caused by all the milk and cheese I have been having lately. Apparently it’s the most common of the foods that throw a baby off when it comes to breastfeeding.

So I have been off milk for most of a week now, cheese and butter ended a couple days ago. If I’m going to do this it may as well be whole hog, right?

Then I found out that it could take up to a couple weeks for it all to clear my system, then another week or two to clear hers!

That means no dairy until at least August!

Instantly my brain started a conga line of all the foods I’m going to have to avoid: pizza, cheeseburgers, tacos, milkshakes, milk with my baked treats or over cereal, cream in my tea, butter on my pancakes… The list just kept going. And it’s not like I can just switch to lactose free milk. She is reacting to the protein in milk, not the sugar.

For a moment I had a bit of a panic attack, then I started talking with Lonnie and discussing how my breakfast will have to change.

Apparently it won’t have to change all that much.

He hasn’t used butter on my eggs for a week now.

Nope.

Bacon grease.

.

(Sorry, I had to corral my taste buds. They’d run off to throw flower petals around in a mountain meadow. Where was I?)

All he needed to change was leave out the serving of cheddar cheese.

Same thing with my usual ham and cheese sandwich for lunch. (although he made me a pb & j yesterday)

Dinner last night was chicken, black beans and broccoli, so no big change there.

Really, the only thing this will effect is my snacking and our meals out.

Put into perspective it’s not really that bad.

Plus the litany of things I can no longer eat reminded us just how far off our slow carb diet we have strayed. So, now it’s time to head back to some level of dietary sanity.

Cheat day won’t be the same without dairy, though. *sigh

Fair well, milk. I shall miss thee.

...

Leave a Reply

