Babies are Weird

9 Aug

They really are!

My 6 month old girl is sitting next to me at the dining room table, alternately babbling, blowing very wet raspberries, and gnawing on the ribbon holding her little chew baggy of grapes, farting like a drunk frat boy, and probably wishing I would put the computer back to the sparkly-outfitted ’70’s music video we watched right before I started blogging.

She is outright refusing to learn how to sit on her own. Instead she keeps her legs straight and wants to bouncy-prance around. This child is going for mobility, ASAP.

Her first word? Dog.

Said very clearly over my shoulder this morning as she looked back at one of our black labs.

Crap.

I really wanted it to be daddy or something…cuter.

Nope. She’s crazy about dogs and cats.

She almost did jumping-jacks in my lap when my sister’s pug came careening into the birthday party last night. Kept shifting her weight and leaning around so she could keep Winnie in sight.

Back to the aforementioned fruit, she will eat so many refried beans I have to cut her off for her diaper’s sake, but makes faces over apples and grapes.

Gripe water has turned into an addiction. I took matters into my own hands and rather than pay $10 for 4oz I asked Lonnie to go get 3 very carefully researched ingredients from the health food store. Now we have made 2 batches of an herbal tea which most babies drink very diluted and sparingly. Not for her. Nope. She will drink it straight or highly diluted. It tastes like unsweetened rootbeer with just a hint of ginger and black liquorish. And she loves it.

My own personal little weirdo.

Love her to pieces. šŸ™‚

.

Wanna see the video we were watching?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JzKAJRux4ss

.

She’s had a nap since the previous words, and has scared me to death by proving once again that she has figured out how to get from the middle of our bed to my bedside table in nothing flat. Now we have no time in which to do the sleeping surface enlargement that we have been talking about.

Going in to get her after she woke up I witnessed her up on hands and knees looking toward that table again. Are we going to have a crawler before the age of 7 months?!?

Is that normal?

Whatever. All I know is that Lonnie and I have our hands full, and from here on out we are going to have to wear track shoes to keep up with her.

.

Man, I hate running.

.

.

.

3 Responses to “Babies are Weird”

  1. jingsandthings August 11, 2015 at 8:49 am #

    You’ll need eyes in the back of your head as well. If she’s so keen on gripe water you might try her with dill – has much the same effect.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ReGi McClain August 20, 2015 at 5:26 am #

    All my babies crawled before 5 months, so 7 is definitely within normal range. šŸ™‚

    Awww! I’m so glad she’s doing so well! She sounds like a handful. šŸ™‚ How wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

