#MirthMusicMon – 1st Birthday and Hoopskirts

24 Jan

One year ago today my little flirt was born.

This is what a baby looks like after mangling an unfrosted dark chocolate cake.

This is what a baby looks like after mangling an unfrosted dark chocolate cake.

And this Mama couldn’t be prouder.

There's a change she might like having her picture taken. Maybe.

There’s a chance she might like having her picture taken. Maybe.

Happy Birthday, Sweetie. It’s been a wild ride so far. I am both excited and terrified to see the next year.

   *   *   *   *   *

Today’s Mirth and Music Monday was found purely by chance while I was wandering through vintage clothing videos. It’s actually a book trailer, and the title makes me curious.

What do you think?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2xrcRt_14a0

Here’s the (American, sorry everyone else) link to her book on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Never-Hoopskirt-Things-Learned-Southern/dp/1606841319/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

It looks like a fun read, unfortunately it’s only in paperback.

No Kindle edition. 😦

With Kathleen in a paper tearing/eating phase I’m not able to read physical books right now.

Boo.

But, she’s growing fast, so Never Sit Down in a Hoopskirt and Other Things I Learned in Southern Belle Hell is on my wish list. 🙂

.

That’s it for me today.

Have a Great week, y’all!

.

If you would like to see the posts by this weeks other Mirth and Music Monday participants click HERE to go to the linky.

That’s also where you can input your own post if you should wish to join in the merriment.

.

.

.

8 Responses to “#MirthMusicMon – 1st Birthday and Hoopskirts”

  1. lucindasutherland January 24, 2016 at 11:15 pm #

    Wherever my wedding pictures are there is a photo of my new husband trying to get me and my hoop-skirted wedding dress into the car to drive us to the reception – LOL! There are other photos where I needed help to put shoes on because I couldn’t see my feet beneath the hoop-skirt. At the rehearsal I wore the slip with the hoop-skirt over my jeans so Grandpa and I could practice navigating the aisle with that huge skirt. It definitely takes some getting used to.

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosedandrea January 24, 2016 at 11:54 pm #

      I remember those photos! lol
      I also remember the goofy ones of daddy.
      Weddings are a lot different than portrayed in the movies. I wasn’t nervous that Lonnie wasn’t the one, or about the ceremony, or the food. I mostly just wanted the little bit of pomp and circumstance to be over with so we could get on with our lives (and eat that yummy wedding cake).

      Like

  2. lucindasutherland January 24, 2016 at 11:22 pm #

    Oh, and the pictures of your little flirt are fabulous. She definitely likes having her picture taken – we all noticed that today. We also noticed that she likes to growl.

    Liked by 2 people

    • rosedandrea January 24, 2016 at 11:47 pm #

      She loves to growl. It’s kind of how she and Lonnie flirt. Often it’s the First sound I hear out of her in the morning.

      Wow, what does WordPress have against the letter F tonight? I tried multiple times to get that F in Flirt to stick, but it disappears if it’s not capitalized. Odd.

      Like

  3. ReGi McClain January 25, 2016 at 9:19 pm #

    Oh, she’s gorgeous, Rose!!! Her smile! And her little chin and her little nose! Such a darling!

    And that is the best book trailer I’ve seen to date. I’m gonna send it to my step-mom, who sometimes wears hoop-skirts as part of Civil War Reenactment she does with my dad. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosedandrea January 27, 2016 at 1:46 am #

      ReGi, you’re making me blush. She is a beauty, and a good girl. We worked hard to teach her not to pull hair. Now you can see her reach, then stop herself. She can’t always resist touching, but most of the time there isn’t a painful jerk afterward.

      Civil War Reenactment? At least it’s not just one of them gone for a ton of weekends. 🙂
      I’ve never worn hoops. It’s something I’ve been curious about. Now corsets, I would love to have a couple custom made. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • ReGi McClain January 27, 2016 at 8:33 am #

        Awwww. ❤ Sweet baby loves hair.

        They're in California and we're up here, so it doesn't affect us very much. They have a lot of fun with it, though.

        Liked by 1 person

        • rosedandrea January 27, 2016 at 10:24 pm #

          It’s good for married couples to have some things they enjoy doing together. And you can’t get much farther from every day life than that. 🙂 lol

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

