#MirthMusicMon – Horribly Shy

6 Mar

Do you have the sort of outer personality that makes people look at you funny when you tell them you’re shy?

I do.

My husband can’t believe I was a wallflower in childhood and most of my teens. The couple of things that really pulled me out of my shell were the fact that I am the oldest sibling (and I’ve always taken that pretty seriously. Do not mess with my sisters. Seriously. I hate digging holes. 😉 ), and theater.

Theater taught me how to put on an outer personality of pleasant happiness, even when I’m in a foul mood or hurting. Very few people can see through that if it’s really on right. In fact, I once had a sister turn to me, after a particularly offensive conversation with someone, and tell me she’d been waiting for me to reach over and strangle him. When I asked her why she told me she knew he was getting to me because I was being ever more polite. (That conversation still makes my blood boil a bit. grrr. If I had a choice super power I’d prefer water bending. Then I could blood bend and force choke… just a little. Very occasionally. Yes, I’m a little bit evil. Just a pinkys worth.)

Anyway, way off topic.

I am, deep down, introverted. So, this song makes me laugh.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xzVMwo8BC88&ebc=ANyPxKrUwQGrr5tg6-NNgrO9hELUaaur9q67a9gxbK917J_U_R_xlxbBaJIUXYQbVWkeBF5p5CRccmNQALj5OJf35WDhieWJ4g

It’s a really fun play called Once Upon a Mattress. If you ever get a chance to see this filmed version do. It has Carol Burnett and Tommy Smuthers, besides Tracey Ullman (the Princess) and a few other stars I can’t name right now.

One of these days I’d like to see a quality version live.

.

That’s it for me this week. If you would like to see more Mirth and Music Monday click HERE to go to the list of other bloggers playing along this week.

That’s also where you would input your own link of you decide to join along with our little band of Monday-merry-makers.

.

.

.

One Response to “#MirthMusicMon – Horribly Shy”

  1. ReGi McClain March 7, 2016 at 1:04 am #

    I did drama, too. Not intentionally for the same reasons, but it sure did help a lot. These days, though, I’m a lot more likely to indulge my shyness. And I love Once Upon a Mattress. 🙂 Excellent choice.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

