#MirthMusicMon – Jimmy Stewart, Everybody!

21 Mar

There is a cold going through this house, and it’s headed straight for me.

Crap. (I know germ killing air filters are really expensive, but are they worth it? Seriously, are they?)

So, I need to get this post done so I get enough sleep to go shopping tomorrow. When Lonnie and I are both down for the count food is difficult. So, time to stock up on easy to cook things, and stuff for crockpot meals.

I’m seriously praying this passes over me and baby (I really want her to go Easter egg hunting!), but we need to go shopping anyway, because I’m tired of digging through the cupboards playing What Will These Taste Like Together.

Ever played that kitchen game? lol

At least it’s one good way to make sure someone in the house eats that random packet of sardines, or herring in red sauce. (I’ve never bought any, but we’ve got ’em. *shudders)

*      *      *

Mirth and Music Monday is a lot of fun. I get to justify perusing YouTube looking for entertaining videos. 😀

Jimmy Stewart telling a joke, everybody!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3IiICcSH8iY

.

Here’s a song from my favorite of his movies, Pot O’ Gold, a lively, feel-good movie with a happy ending.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PIoPP_9ivP8

.

For more Mirth and Music Monday click HERE.

That’s also where you can upload your own link if you should decide to join us in making Mondays a little more bearable.

.

Are you experiencing a spring cold? How are you coping with the flu fever and cabin fever at the same time?

Have you every watched Pot O’ Gold? What’s your favorite Jimmy Stewart movie?

Did you know he voiced the old sheriff dog in An American Tail: Fieval Goes West? (he’s listed as James Stewart)

.

3 Responses to “#MirthMusicMon – Jimmy Stewart, Everybody!”

  1. ReGi McClain March 21, 2016 at 7:30 pm #

    Ah, the colds. 😦 I’m sorry. The air filters don’t actually kill germs, they just trap them, to my knowledge. They help with allergies but not so much with colds. Lowering the allergen count in your home can help with recovering from colds, though. Less to fight.

    And YUP! I know that kitchen game all too well.

    I did know Jimmy Stewart was the Sheriff’s voice. 😀 (You’re probably not surprised. 😛 ) But I haven’t watched Pot O’ Gold. I don’t think I knew Jimmy Stewart sang, either. I have now been enlightened! 🙂 Nice song pick. I like him in the Hitchcock films, but I don’t think I’ve seen many of his not-Hitchcock movies.

    I suspect that wife knew a thing or two her husband wasn’t aware she knew. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosedandrea March 27, 2016 at 11:17 pm #

      If you can find it, I think you would really like Pot o’ Gold. Jimmy Stewart was really good in comedic roles.
      Being honest, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Hitchcock film all the way through. :/
      From Wikipedia:
      “Stewart returned to films after an absence of five years with a major supporting role in John Wayne’s final film, The Shootist (1976) where Stewart played a doctor giving Wayne’s gunfighter a terminal cancer diagnosis. At one point, both Wayne and Stewart were flubbing their lines repeatedly and Stewart turned to director Don Siegel and said, “You’d better get two better actors.””
      In his filmography list I was reminded of his role in After The Thin Man. And if you haven’t seen The Thin Man series you’re really missing out. lol (actually, I need to get my dvd set back from mom. It’s time to watch them again, I think. 🙂 )

      Liked by 1 person

      • ReGi McClain March 28, 2016 at 5:18 pm #

        I have seen the Thin Man series! Though, somehow, I think I missed that one. I’ll just have to rewatch. *sigh* Such a burden. 😉

        I like to watch the Jack Benny show. He and Stewart were friends and they poke fun at the relationship, with Jack BIRGing and Jimmy tolerating. It’s very amusing.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

