#MirthMusicMon – Sneezing

28 Mar

You know how last week I thought there was a cold coming my direction?

I was wrong.

It was a flu.

Too much fever and body aches to be a cold. :/

Sleeping Kathleen - a few days before we came down with this crud.

Sleeping Kathleen – a few days before we came down with this crud.

Kathleen is actually not doing too bad with this. I only had to wipe her nose for a couple of days, she spikes a mild fever once or twice a day, and has developed only a touch of a cough. For the most part she’s still tearing around the house at the same speed. She really thrilled our female lab this afternoon when she decided to devote an hour to pulling little handfulls of kibble out of the dog food bag and feeding it to her. Of course, this was while Kathleen was also enjoying the fruits of her labor, eating probably 4 or 5 pieces herself. (It’s high quality, American made stuff that the dogs have been on for years, so I’m not worried about a few pieces here and there. lol)

Her father and I, on the other hand, are trying to decide if we need to email someone our final wishes. It’s been just over a week for him, and just under one for me, so obviously…we’re going to die.

Seriously, though, it’s miserable at times, but…yeah, I got nothin’.

We will recover. (Have to. I don’t have near enough life insurance on him yet. 😉 )

And when we do I really hope we’ll have a couple days in the 60 degree area so I can air this house out, then go for a walk.

Oh! Speaking of walking. Kathleen walked across the dining room this evening!!! She took her daddy a couple pieces of dog food. lol  Twelve feet! And she didn’t pause, squat, or brace herself on anything. It was slow going, but she made it. 😀

And while she was having me tell her the names of body parts she interrupted me by pointing to her knee and saying “Knee.” Then she pointed to mine and said it again.

I’ve been having little flashbacks to the nerve wracking meeting with her NICU Neurologist where we were told that there was no evidence of oxygen deprivation brain damage, but they couldn’t rule out developmental delays, and warned that there was a good chance she would need monitoring over the next couple years.

My puffy little morphined up baby on the morning of her 7th day of life.

My puffy little morphined up baby on the morning of her 7th day of life.

I think that’s partly why I’m always so over the moon when she does these little things that prove she’s right on track.

She loves to 'help' me clean the floors. Bet your Swiffer doesn't have baby bite marks. ;)

She loves to ‘help’ me clean the floors. Bet your Swiffer doesn’t have baby bite marks. 😉

We have been very blessed. She makes us laugh at least a couple times a day, and reminds us to not take ourselves too seriously. How can you when your little one is handing you an old flip phone fully expecting you to converse with her imaginary caller? 😀

.

For Mirth and Music Monday I thought I would use a Veggie Tales song about sneezing. Because, let’s face it, I’ve been getting a lot of practice.

What I hate, is when you get one of those sneezes that just hangs out in your sinuses for what feels like ages. Your head itches and your nose twitches; your eyes water and feel like they’re crossed. It’s miserable!

And just as you’re wondering if it has decided not to happen, so you set the box of tissues back down, it rushes out in a blaze of…um, well, not glory. 😉

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jpMchY-_edY

.

That’s all I have for this week.

For more Mirth and Music Monday click HERE to be taken to the linky where you’ll have your choice of other bloggers’ posts.

That’s also where you can input your own post if you should decide to join in the fun. 😀

.

.

.

One Response to “#MirthMusicMon – Sneezing”

  1. ReGi McClain March 28, 2016 at 3:28 pm #

    Oh, man. 😦 So sorry about the flu. I hope it passes quickly.

    Squee!!! Happy baby development milestones! How exciting! Especially coming from the perspective of someone who was told developmental delays might be a thing. Every new step is something special when they’re little, but only parents who face not getting to see those steps know how precious they truly are.

    For some reason, my audio doesn’t want me to listen to the silly song. Probably a bad pair of headphones. I’ll have to come back for it later.

    Like

Leave a Reply

