#MirthMusicMon – The Small Shoemaker

4 Apr

I actually worked for a boot maker for a little while. It was very interesting.

I didn’t really learn anything of the trade, but it’s amazing what can be repaired on a pair of decent shoes. If you really love your shoes but something is coming unstitched, or the tread is gone, see if you can find a shoe repair shop. It’s usually worth it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DvgRn8STjmQ

.

It’s been a very long day. We’re all dealing with the tail end of this dratted flu, Kathleen is going through a growth spurt the past couple days, and it seems some of her teeth are on the move. She’s been unhappy and wanting a lot of attention, while wanting to maintain her bit of freedom and moments of distance from me. It’s like playing with a broken yo-yo. It goes out just fine, but you have to manually wind it back up.

I shouldn’t complain too loudly. In 14 years when she’s trying to talk back and nagging us about driver’s ed I’ll look back at these days and wonder why they went by so fast. lol

Oh, well.

That’s it for this week’s Mirth and Music Monday.

For more #MirthMusicMon posts click HERE to be taken to the link up. I know there are at least two other bloggers playing along this week. 🙂

.

.

.

6 Responses to “#MirthMusicMon – The Small Shoemaker”

  1. ReGi McClain April 5, 2016 at 3:22 pm #

    I hope you all feel much better by the end of the week!

    14 years goes by quickly. My eldest turns 14 this month!!!!

    What an adorable video. I had a friend who owned his own shoe repair shop. He was, in essence, an old cobbler from Sicily. Eventually, though, he had to start telling more and more people his repairs would cost more than a pair of new shoes, because he was honest and most shoes are made cheaply.

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosedandrea April 5, 2016 at 3:45 pm #

      Thanks, ReGi. We’re up and about, but it’s that last little niggling bit of this cough. Sheesh.
      Exactly! I think back 14 years and about choke. In so many ways it feels like just last week. Eighteen is kind of a scary year. I’d just done my first melodrama play, and had accepted a job at a daycare/preschool. College started the next year, and stayed in that year, too, if I remember correctly. Not really the best way for me to learn, although I did have a couple of interesting teachers. Used books alone depleted my entire savings. (Granddad was paying for the classes)
      Fourteen is an interesting year, too. So much to learn; especially about yourself! Your brain is literally rebuilding after the pathway purge of 13, and you have to re-learn a brand new you. No wonder so many of us just went head first into books all the time. lol
      Yes, it’s kind of a fine line between repair or purchase new in a lot of cases. Around here there are a lot of $100 construction boots and $2,000 cowboy boots, and those are worth repairing. Mike can also repair saddles, coats, purses and just about anything else that’s leather, so he’s not short on customers. He’s also certified to make ‘prescription’ shoes for people with foot and leg problems. It was really fascinating to watch him measure feet.
      Which reminds me, I need to get over there to say hi. They haven’t met Kathleen yet! :O

      Liked by 1 person

      • ReGi McClain April 5, 2016 at 4:28 pm #

        Oops! Better scoot over so they can meet your darling. 🙂

        Beloved and I both have some good cowboy boots, so, yeah. Repairs. My friend’s shop was in a Los Angeles mall, though, so… Really only for the very rich who would spend $200+/pair of shoes. (There were plenty. He never struggled.)

        My 14 yo is an Aspie, so the neurology is a little different. The pathways are still getting torn down and rebuilt, but the challenges tend to be challengier. She handles it very well, though. Mostly by hiding in books. 😉 😛

        Liked by 1 person

        • rosedandrea April 5, 2016 at 4:38 pm #

          Books are awesome. They helped me process through some tough times. I must have read The Hobbit 4x in one year. It was nearly in tatters by the time that phase was over. lol
          I could never get into the Lord of the Rings trilogy, though. It was too tense for me to handle. The Hobbit seemed more of an adventure for some reason.
          Uh-oh. I have a 14 month old having a meltdown because the front door is locked. lol

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Elisabeth April 10, 2016 at 12:17 pm #

    You always dig up the cutest pieces!

    And, it can be really tough, but the terrible twos aren’t so terrible in hindsight once kids are big enough to start moving furniture to hide “accidents” on the walls and carpet. 😉 Hang in there!

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosedandrea April 10, 2016 at 6:30 pm #

      Thanks, Elsabeth! 🙂
      She’s spinning fast, but I’m trying to appreciate the cuteness that is 1+ years. lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

