#MirthMusicMon – Procrastination 6-5000

10 Apr

This procrastination thing has my life all wrapped up.

It’s around my writing, blogging, social life, housework, even eating my meals, for heaven’s sake!

One of the few things I procrastinated on was getting photos of Kathleen in the Easter dress my mother knitted for her. Win!

One of the few things I didn’t procrastinate on was getting photos of Kathleen in the Easter dress my mother knitted. Win!

So it was nice to come across a video that explains what I’m going through, with a bit of humor.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=arj7oStGLkU&ebc=ANyPxKrY3OMsVqW6yjk2uJjEp7sD9zEKF129DTArpEEW3RsL55Sp9892uMl-Ld3TyU2ibvn-AdUW7Qmc2F_Xtfyw6092in2MLA&nohtml5=False

Now I just need to figure out a way to make self-imposed deadlines more…scary?

Any suggestions?

Seriously, any ideas?

Your input may just get this highly distractable brain into gear.

.

The music bit was easy. I found something I hadn’t heard in a while; and as you can see it made for an interesting post title. Bonus! lol

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m_muFwwTSMs&nohtml5=False

Hard to go wrong with Glen Miller.

(Plus, Kathleen did a little boogy while holding onto the table, so you know it’s got a good sound. 😉 )

.

That’s it for this post.

Click HERE for more of this week’s Mirth and Music Monday posts from other amazing bloggers.

If you would like to put together a post with something funny and something musical (it can be the same video) go ahead and click the link to go add your post to the list. Don’t be shy. We love new participants.

.

.

.

3 Responses to “#MirthMusicMon – Procrastination 6-5000”

  1. ReGi McClain April 13, 2016 at 1:20 pm #

    I love the image of Kathleen boogying out. 😀 Sweet toddler.

    Ahahahahahaha! that procrastination video! What a great way to address a serious issue without being preachy or guilt-trippy.

    The best way I know to stick to self-imposed deadlines on big things is to make them public so the panic monster can do its thing. ROW-80 is a good way to put it, or just posting it on your blog or FB. For little maintenance things, routines work best, because after 8 weeks or so, you start to do things without thinking about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rosedandrea September 26, 2016 at 9:56 am #

    Reblogged this on Rose's Road and commented:

    It’s been a busy couple of weeks. I’ve been working on building an offline business, which I may or may not share with my personal blog following, not sure yet. We shall see what the consensuses is among those I trust with my safely and security. 🙂
    So, while I am not procrastinating on most things, it is a chore to try and fit everything in right now. But I really do not want this blog to fall by the wayside. I’ll just have to put more effort into working on it when the mood strikes. 😀
    I hope you all have a great week!

    Like

  3. Laura Bennet October 3, 2016 at 11:39 am #

    Loved the TED talk for a humorous explanation of procrastination! Hilarious. I think we have to ban the monkey! Just kidding.

    Simplifying and scheduling. Those two things are helping me. Now I’m not the huge procrastinator my loved one is, but he’s recently asked me to help him with this too as her builds a new business.

    Here’s what we found: I asked him a bunch of questions like: When do you feel like you are your best self/top of your game? What system of organization works best for you? When do you feel most successful? What distracts you most? When are you most distracted? Now write a few goals. Short term like 3 month, 6 month and longer term like 1 – 5 year. Break down each goal into month, week and daily tasks. Now use those goals and the answers to those questions to simplify and schedule. What kinds of tasks do you need to do to accomplish your goals? List your tasks and # or letter them or give them a % of what is highest priority. Block out time each day and list these things in those blocks according to their importance. This should take care of most of your “to do” or task list. Keep an additional task list – like as things come up you write them on a white board (the action of erasing is invigorating and keeps momentum) and fit those into your plan each day. If you have a plan, you will be less likely to procrastinate. Often it is the magnitude of not knowing where to start that keeps us immobile. Also, delete distractions by allocating them to a particular place in your plan. If I have a specific time for email, reading, FB, etc. then I can remind myself that now is not the time, but I have scheduled that time to look forward to it! Use your plan as a guideline – being too rigid will overwhelm and cause us to put off things. Have someone keep you accountable. Did I write my 1,000 words today? Or if not, maybe the fact that I wrote 2,000 yesterday gives me a little room to only write 300 today. And make sure you are sleeping, eating and exercising too. It’s amazing how our energy levels affect our engagement levels!

    I found Michael Hyatt’s productivity summit soooo helpful. You might check it out. http://www.michaelhyatt.com

    Hope something in that is helpful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

