#MirthMusicMon – Anglophile Confessions

13 Jun

Anglophile means someone who really likes British culture, people, their royalty, etc., and I am one.

Having lived in England for 4 years as a child, it’s not surprising that I love quite a bit of the stuff that is typically pegged as British. Yes, that means cream and sugar in my English breakfast tea, and occasionally having some pretty serious crumpet withdrawals (there are recipes, but I don’t miss them that much, most of the time). I do miss summers that don’t roast you half to death, and mild winters.  I’m also quite intrigued by their royals, past and present.

That’s why, in honor of Queen Elizabeth’s 90th birthday I’m letting my anglophile side show.

Here are a couple of adorably quirky videos from the YouTube channel Anglophenia:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2jZDBz0qVtM

I’m a little blown away that they have scientists working on the techniques for making the perfect cup of tea, and the optimal dipping biscuit.

I’m more than a little curious about a few of these.

And, it’s a little difficult to think of a band who’s influenced American culture more than The Beatles:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S-rB0pHI9fU

.

One of these days I may have an as yet unknown rich Uncle leave me his fortune and actually make it back to England for a visit (as well as Scotland and Ireland. Ooh! Gone for a month at least). But for now, I’ll just have to do my traveling via YouTube. lol

.

That’s it for this weeks Mirth and Music Monday.

If you would like to see more posts by this weeks participating bloggers click HERE.

That’s also where you’ll want to go if you should choose to create your own #MirthMusicMon post. All it takes is something funny and something musical. 🙂

.

.

.

Leave a Reply

