Getting To Know You

8 Nov

I love to read.

That didn’t come out right.

I Love to Read.

It seems, however, that I am rather persnickety about what I am willing to pick up.

I will read certain types of fantasy, almost all romance (unless it’s too sappy), some action/adventure, as long as it’s not too bloody, satire, humor, fun, cute, light, or girly.

What I can not stand, is an ill-written book.  I can look past typos, and even a tired cliché or two; just please don’t base your entire plot on a watery character who is supposed to fall for a guy who’s English is way too correct to be a believable person.

My favorite genre to read: Is Terry Pratchett’s work a genre? ( http://www.terrypratchett.co.uk/ )

My favorite Genre to write: I thought it was romance, but I started a suspense for NaNoWriMo and I am really enjoying myself.

If I could hang out with a book character: It would have to be Captain Carrot of the Ank-Morpork City Watch, from Terry Pratchett’s Disc World series.  Because if I stuck beside him for an entire shift I would get to meet the rest of the officers, and get a good tour through the city.

Alright, my precious Audience, I am curious about a few things.

1.)    What is your favorite genre to read?

2.)    What is your favorite genre to write?

3.)    If you could hang out with a character from a book, who would you pick?  Why?

P.S.  Agnus and The Hitman is not just a book for girls.  My husband laughed his butt off when I read it aloud in the car on the way to and from work.

2 Responses to “Getting To Know You”

  1. Anna November 18, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    Only one genre per question? Ok… Is fantasy sci fi christian romance a genre? If so, that would be my favorite to read. However, as I have yet to find such a fragile combination, I read them separately.
    My favorite genre to try to write seems to be somewhere between science fiction and fantasy around the PG rating.
    Only one character to hang out with would be tough to choose, but I think I’d like to hang out with Namisha(did I spell it correctly?) from Namisha’s Ship, (I can’t remember reliably who wrote it, read it about six or seven years ago) borrowed it from Mom and hoped there was a sequel before I was done with the book. She was written in an amazing fashion that gave her an understanding of technology far beyond that of the Vulcans in Star Trek yet she was fully human in her interactions with her mother, romances, daughter, employees and all others she encountered. I would jump at the chance to have a personal conversation or two with her.

    Like

    • rosedandrea November 21, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

      I wonder if there is a type of book in the fantasy, sci-fi, Christian romance genre?
      If there isn’t, perhaps you could start it?! Sounds like something I would enjoy reading.

      Like

Leave a Reply

