#MirthMusicMon – Blimey Cow …In 20 Years

2 Feb

It’s Monday again!

Yeah. I’ve made it past my 4th annual 28th birthday and I’m still surprised at their frequency. Go figure.
I have also become a mommy this past month. It’s been scary. Mostly because she was in her third hospital before her twelfth hour of life. But I’ll tack that story after the fun stuff for those who want to know what’s been going on and why I was absent last week. 🙂

For this Mirth and Music Monday I found a funny video by Blimey Cow called Messy Mondays:Seven Things that Won’t Be Cool in 20 Years.

Enjoy!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkYd2TiOw9c

.

Then there’s stuff that I think will always be cool, like Herman’s Hermits. 🙂

.

Click HERE to see who else is participating this week.

.

That’s it for me folks.

Have a Great week!

.

.
Here’s where I tack on my P.S. for baby drama.
Without going into too many technical or icky details I’ll explain.

Last Sunday afternoon, after spending months in the ideal head down position, my daughter decided to flip right before being pushed out and came out breech, and grey. I got to hold her for maybe a minute before the midwives whisked her across the room and started working on her. All her vitals looked good except she had inhaled maconium and wasn’t breathing, or even trying.
The paramedics arrived (like 30 seconds later) and got her responsive. She was making unhappy squawking noises as they all marched out the door, taking her to the hospital for observation.
The ladies at the birthing center got me cleaned up and one of them drove ahead of my husband and I to the hospital. Then began my experience of being wheeled everywhere for several days (Baby girl did not come out gently, the little stinker).
We had been informed that she was doing alright. When we got to the small intensive care unit, however, we were informed that she was not doing well at all and they couldn’t figure out why. Then, after they worked on her for a couple hours, they discovered that she had holes in both lungs. She was shipped to the next hospital.
This one is the big sister of the first, just one town over. Our little one had two ambulance rides before she was half dry.
At this hospital she got even worse. They still had no idea what was wrong and were trying to assess the damage, find the underlying problem, and keep her alive. (Afterwards I learned that the doctor was at the end of a 48 hour shift and refused to leave our baby because she didn’t want to waste time updating someone else. Same thing with the two nurses who were hovering the entire time she was there. We are currently trying to decide what to make for them to say thank you.)
It was decided that she needed more help than even that large hospital could provide, so they started looking into their three options and prepping her for a flight.
Unfortunately everything, including our airport, was fogged in. It was several hours before any fog lifted, and the first option to open up was Salt Lake City. They jumped on it.
Thankfully before they could ship her the morning staff had come in and we now had a lactation consultant and a social worker helping boss certain things around for us. I was shown how to start collecting milk for when baby is strong enough to be fed (and the consultant slipped some other essentials into those bags of supplies, bless her), and the social worker booked me a flight that left an hour after our daughter (and cash for a taxi from the airport to the new hospital! It also covered my food for the next couple days.).
Lonnie drove me to the airport. There was no time for us to get me more clothes than what I had brought and worn to the birthing center. Thankfully I had been a little wishy-washy, so had a couple shirts and extra under things. Unfortunately, no hairbrush, toothbrush, paste, or anything of that sort. Then I had to leave my purse with him because it would count as a carry-on. I came over with my pumping supplies, a rented pump machine, and a carry-on suitcase with as much stuff jammed in as possible from my purse.
I enjoyed take off and landing, and thankfully caught a nap during the half hour flight. Then we landed and I was completely responsible for myself…and technically handicapped. In fact they had arranged to have a wheelchair and assistant waiting for me in the terminal.

So I was in a third hospital, only this time I had no one around me. Until, a new social worker and a new lactation consultant found me. Both lovely women.
My family was constantly calling or texting me, so I never really felt alone. My husband couldn’t come for a couple of days because of paperwork and logistics. He and my parents arrived on the same day. Huge sigh of relief.

On the afternoon of the first day here our daughter’s doctor sat me down and told me what is wrong with her. She has Pulmonary Valve Stenosis. Basically the valve that lets blood go to her lungs is too small. To compensate it has been working way too hard and has gotten too thick as well.
They have a plan for that. Yup. I have met with her cardiologist now, too. They are going to put a little balloon in her heart and blow it up until it makes that valve bigger…and not in the gentlest way, unfortunately.
However, if the procedure goes well, and she heals correctly, it could be several years before they have to actually go in and do a real heart surgery to make the permanent changes necessary for adult life.
Now, a week after her birth, she only has one tiny hole in her right lung. Her oxygen levels are great. They are taking her off a couple of the medications, and lowering the amount that the respirators are helping because she is breathing rather well. If she continues to heal and stays stable they will be able to perform the ‘cathing’, as they have been referring to it, some time on Tuesday. We are very hopeful.
We still have not been able to hold her; she is hooked up to too many machines and bags right now. But we can go in and touch her and talk to her.
This evening she had the hiccups and was making all the crying faces but couldn’t cry because of the tubes down her throat. That’s the first time I cried at her bedside. I couldn’t pick her up and make it better. But I toughed it out, kept my right hand on the top of her head and my left on her thigh and quietly told her that I don’t like the hiccups either, but when she gets older I’d show her how to get rid of them. A few minutes later they went away and she fell asleep. So now I’ve shushed my baby to sleep. Finally. A week after she was born.

By the way, in case any of you are wondering: She was full term and came out 6 pounds 11 ounces, and 20 inches long.

If this post and explanation seem a little scrambled and rambling, please forgive me. I have been running on adrenaline and too little sleep for a week now.
One thing I must say is that everyone at the second and third hospitals have been wonderful. It has been scary, yes, but not as bad as it could have been if the staff had not been as gentle and caring as they are.

I have to give huge thank yous to my Aunt Debbie for hugs, getting me some dinner that first evening, and your travel pack of tissues.
My parents for always, always being there.
My husband for holding my hand all the time, being man enough to hold my purse, and for bringing the right clothes when you drove down.
The rest of my family for calling and texting and staying upbeat, and understanding if I don’t get back with you five minutes later.

.
Okay, that’s all for now, folks. I’ll try to keep you updated, but for the most part I’ll still just be concentrating on Mirth and Music Mondays here. I need the laughs. 🙂
.
.

**Edit: To read the next post with a baby update click HERE.**

.

.
.

8 Responses to “#MirthMusicMon – Blimey Cow …In 20 Years”

  1. lucindasutherland February 2, 2015 at 9:34 am #

    Some of our blessings come with hyper-speed education tacked on. I’m so glad that you are doing so well with yours.

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosedandrea February 2, 2015 at 12:30 pm #

      They certainly do.
      I think we have started to calm down and actually start taking stuff in. It doesn’t hurt that she is stable now and we have had a couple days to breathe. 🙂

      Like

  2. ReGi McClain February 2, 2015 at 10:16 am #

    Oh my gosh, woman!!! You sound so calm doing all this blogging about it. That you’re even blogging is amazing! (Though I suppose it could be a helpful distraction &/or therapeutic. For me it’d be another thing on the list.) I wish I could come give you a hug. I’ll have to settle for the virtual version. I’m so glad your baby seems to be doing okay and I’m so sorry you haven’t got to hold her yet. I hope for more happy updates soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • rosedandrea February 2, 2015 at 12:39 pm #

      lol ReGi, I love you. A virtual hug will do for now. 🙂
      It’s amazing what a big ol’ helping of faith will do. I handed the worrying over her to God when I was so sick and couldn’t eat enough to keep the weight on. He still is watching over her. The doctors and nurses seem a little thrown by how fast she is progressing. She is an ornery, stubborn, beautiful little bug who has a great big God watching over her. 🙂
      That’s not to say I’m not sad about not getting to hold and feed her yet. But I’ve been learning patience…time to put it into practice, I guess.

      Liked by 1 person

      • ReGi McClain February 3, 2015 at 5:49 pm #

        Well, imagine LOTS of virtual hugs. 🙂 I’ll keep praying for your little sweetheart and looking for updates.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Amie February 2, 2015 at 9:31 pm #

    Oh Rose, my heart is going out to you! I’m praying you get to hold that precious little one VERY soon! Keeping you in our prayers at Bible study.

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #MirthMusicMon – Rhett & Link and Baby Updates | Rose's Road - February 9, 2015

    […] those of you who have no idea what that means you may want to read this post as well to get the whole […]

    Like

  2. #MirthMusicMon – Cat and Sleepy Man Banjo Boys | Rose's Road - February 1, 2016

    […] her 1 year check up her Pediatrician said that if he didn’t know better the tiny murmur in her heart would have just sounded like turbulence. Everything is A-OK, and she is growing like a weed; 1/4 […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

