I Think Something Is Conspiring Against Me Publishing

24 Sep

The last time I thought I was ready to publish I caught a flu that kept me in bed for ten days, and in the house for almost three weeks.

This time, I have chosen the photo I want for my cover (way better than last time, though, so that’s a plus), and have taken a couple steps toward getting it taken and uploaded to Amazon’s cover creator.

Guess what happened this time?

The pump for our well died.

Yup, we currently have no running water… and I’m a slightly OCD germaphobe.

Let that sink in for a minute.

(We are taking steps to fix it, but it’s like a conspiracy to have to visit every dang hardware store in the region buying one or two things from each. grrr)

.

The good thing is that the place I have found the perfect bathroom is actually at my parent’s house. So I may kill two birds with one stone and go take a shower, rearrange their bathroom to take my photos, then clean up after myself.

Ta-da!

Talk about looking on the bright side. (it’s taking some work, so don’t squash it)

I named the book My Ignored Hamper and other Bathroom Poetry after doing a little research about Google searches (brain melting), and also after one of my favorite poems in this collection. So along with my parent’s bathroom, I will be borrowing some little boy clothes and bath toys from a relative and making the room look like a couple little kids just got done taking a bath.

Hence the having to clean up after myself. lol

In many ways I think it’s good that I have not published yet. It has taken a long time for me to feel that I kind of have my feet under me (hey, I said kind of) with this author/publisher/advertiser/business owner thing. There is still tons of stuff still to learn, but to a reasonable extent, I think I am ready to have a book out there.

Now it’s just the technicalities of figuring out those last hurdles — putting links in the back matter, and then actually uploading. *Gulp*

*            *            *

On another note, I am thinking of cutting my blogging days to three or four days a week. I’m still hashing out which days I would want to publish what, so it’s not like I’m changing anything now. This is just a heads up.

*            *            *

On a third note:

You guys have been great. Seriously. This path toward authorship is a tough one, and you have all taken turns to cheer me up and cheer me on. And I just wanted to take a moment to say Thank You for that. It means a lot to me.  🙂

.

A cool photo editing accident from way back.

A cool photo editing accident from way back.

4 Responses to “I Think Something Is Conspiring Against Me Publishing”

  1. ReGi McClain September 24, 2013 at 10:18 am #

    “Just keep writing, just keep writing! What do we do? We write, write. OH! I love to wriiiiite!”

    Like

    • rosedandrea September 25, 2013 at 12:57 am #

      It has been years since I saw that movie! I wonder if it’s on Netflix?

      Like

Leave a Reply

